Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Post Pre-Op

4 Comments

For all of you on the edge of your seat waiting to hear how the pre-op went…and OMG, I know there are thousands of you out there…okay, maybe a little less…the pre-op went very smoothly.  We got there at 7:30 am and there was not a soul waiting except for us.  Maybe I should’ve said “sole” since it’s an orthpaedic office.  We were called almost immediately and met with the Physician’s Assistant, Joan.  She went over what to expect the morning of the surgery, what time I need to be there, reviewed my medications and supplements list, how to obtain a handicap placquered (has it really come to this?) and some other dry information that isn’t too exciting.

My doctor then came in, and I have to say that I have the BEST knee doctor!  He actually replaced one of my mom’s knees, so I feel confident in his abilities and is an extremely kind and caring man to boot!  A bonus for a surgeon!  My mom’s surgery went swimmingly by the way, and she received a pair of fins as a gift.  Okay, maybe I’ve exaggerated a bit on the gift.  😉

The first thing he looked at was the time of my operation.  Noting the 7:30 am time on the 11th he then responded, “Oh good, I’ll be fresh!”   Ummmm….to all of those out there with an upcoming surgery, do yourself a favor and make an early morning appointment, k?  He also explained the surgery would last about two hours, which was much shorter than I had imagined.   Next, a technician took a new set of xrays of my knees since the last ones were over a year ago.  We reviewed the xrays and he explained how he would insert something underneath the kneecap which was good to know.  At least I’ll still have the shape of my own knee!  Thankfully, we really didn’t go into the blow by blow description of the operation.  They do make available videos to watch, but I have elected not to watch all the gory details.  So no bag of popcorn or 3D glasses.

I left the pre-op yesterday realizing that I’M READY!  I’ve been struggling so much with walking because of this knee, it’s ridiculous.  When you get to that point, you know that this is the only alternative.  There is no other way out, and believe me, I’ve thought of them all.

Today I have an “interview” with nursing staff from the hospital where I will be having the surgery.  I guess their legal team has been working overtime.  🙂

Stay tuned for more juicy details!!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

4 thoughts on “Post Pre-Op

  1. Are you going to write on your knees with marker so they don’t replace the wrong one once you’re out? Can’t hurt.

    • I wonder if that happens with all the precautions they take these days. I’ve already been called three times by the hospital about the surgery. If they can’t get it right after that, I don’t know what to say.

  2. Another great post, gee, I love your writing as much as your photography. About doctors being “fresh”. yes, yes, yes, Doctors are human beings, and we all are in so much better shape when we a fresh in the morning, and not sleepy after lunch.

    • I’m so glad you like my writing. 🙂 Honestly I had no intention of this being a photography blog. I was a complete beginner back then and taught myself photoshop while I was recovering!

Leave a Reply

