Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

The Interview

6 Comments

Nothing like milking the american healthcare system for its dollars!  And we wonder why a Q-tip costs $10.   <sighs>    What more could there be to know after blood tests, an EKG, a check up by my primary care physician and a pre-op with my surgeon?  Kinda the same ol’ thing if you ask me.

I arrived at the clinic a tad early and the place was like a morgue.  Hmm…perhaps that might be a bad choice of words for a healthcare facility.  🙂   I checked in, sat down, husband in tow, and we settled in with our smartphones.  Thank god for smartphones, otherwise we would’ve been subjected to sailing or gossip magazines.

A man entered the room, went to the counter and immediately complained that he had so many pre-appointments for a 45 minute surgery.  Not much else on my smartphone, so I struck up a conversation with him when he sat down.  Shocker I know being that I am so shy.  😛   We then proceeded to discuss how the healthcare system has gotten out of control and that the appointments we both were waiting for were part of the problem.  I won’t bore you with the details of that, but it was so dull in the waiting room, that I thought I should report it.

I was called into the back to meet with a Nurse Practitioner (yes, AGAIN) and she went over some of the same things they did at the pre-op with some new information.  Like listening to my breathing through a stethoscope, checking my temperature and tapping my feet.  Oh yes, let’s pay a nurse practitioner for that…I’m sure it took her years of schooling to master those techniques!  She also rechecked the medication list, the exact same one as I gave my surgeon and asked me what supplements I was taking.  And finally…..drum roll please…..she gave me a map to the administration office at the hospital so I won’t get lost on the day of my surgery.  Whew!  Glad I received that!  So as you can see, it was a bit of an uneventful visit.

HOWEVER!  Even though I felt The Interview wasn’t really necessary and could’ve been combined with other visits I’ve had in preparation for my surgery, I would rather have them be safe than sorry.  Double- and triple-checking is not a bad thing.  Especially since it will be ME under the knife!

It’s getting close now and I’m trying to squeeze into my days everything I can do in order to get ready for my new leg up on life!  Stayed tuned for the scintillating details of my surgery preparation!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

6 thoughts on “The Interview

  1. At least you did not fall asleep waiting, and it is good to double and triple check; everything will be fine and you will have excellent care

  2. This is a nice way to connect-in as you endure your surgery and recovery. Good Luck on Tuesday Laura, I’m sure you’ll be running around in no time.

  3. Yes, the double checking was good, even if wasteful. I can hardly wait to read your next post, but I have to take a shower now.

Leave a Reply

