Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

This and that before checkout

9 Comments

Thought I’d give you all an update while I’m waiting for breakfast. First, yesterday’s therapy sessions went well. Mary is awesome and got me moving around the hallways almost immediately. My first task was to walk around the hallway…heel toe, heel toe, with a walker. The knee was a bit painful…okay maybe a lot painful at times, but I managed to accomplish the task at hand.

Later in the day, Mary’s sunny face popped on my room once again and so we once again started walking around the hallway on our way to practice stairs. Funny…I’d see other people dressed just like me with walkers and a wrap around their knee. There was a bit of comradry as we acknowledged each other in passing.

Stairs are accomplished with one crutch under my left arm and holding a stair rail with my right arm to support my right knee which had the surgery.

After that it was back to my room where Mary suggested I sit in a chair for 30 minutes before getting into bed. I felt like the Queen of Sheeba sitting in the chair staring straight ahead. I kept looking for my minions but they were nowhere to be found! Rats!

My surgeon came into visit me later on and said I was doing so well that I could skip the rehab and go directly home on Friday. I look forward to being on my own bed free of all these drip lines and perhaps getting a full nights sleep for a change.

One thing that was kind of shocking is that I found out for the first three months I can’t sit in a chair for more than an hour and that I had to be back in my machine after that. Yikes! I guess I will be in bed a lot until march!

Oooo breakfast should be here soon! Have a good day everyone! Ill update tomorrow from TKR Central!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

9 thoughts on “This and that before checkout

  1. Awesome news!!!PT and listening and obeying the all mighty words of the therapist and doctor is all you need to know, the rest is discipline and fortitude, learning to walk sucks I know I was on crutches for 9 months before my hip surgery, after I took 22 units at AMC for solar design in my walker on campus all day!!Lots of fun there. Laura you are your own best minion, do what the Doctors tell you. I don’t want to sound preachy but all this comes from all my surgeries,knees ,hip ,neck. I cant even go to the airport, Superior or Federal District court room’s without the metal detectors going off and a body search, lots of fun there, Usually I’ll show them the foot long zipper scare on my left hip, that takes care of them…LOL ohhh yes keep on laughing!!Bear

    • Thank you Bear :). I know you’ve been through a lot with physical issues and have a wealth of knowledge to share and I really appreciate your words of wisdom. I’m very excited about my future now because I’ll finally have a strong leg! 🙂

  2. Its all from God’s love for you as a sister in Christ, I am glad my words help and offered this opportunity to follow and help, if there is anything you need a different point of view I’m all ears and typing fingers here for you, Thanks Bear

    • I am so touched and I feel so loved by my family and friends. It’s rare to find good friends that care like you do. I believe that I was meant to go through this at this very time because only now am I ready to learn for these lessons and appreciate what is being offered to me now. :). Thank goodness for you and your typing fingers!

  3. I hear people just blithely say, “oh I had a knee replacement”. I had no idea about these details. I am trying to put it off as long as possible by doing strengthening exercises for my quadriceps. I don’t know if they help or not, but I suppose when the time comes, it will be good for my recovery. Two years ago, I had what they called a “arthritis flare up”, and I could not walk for three days. It was the most frightening, horrible experience, being so helpless.

    I will check in with you blog tomorrow. Today, I am getting a brand new 27 inch iMac. By the way, is there a way to make your images on WordPress fill the screen????

    • Oooooo a new iMac! I have a 15″ Macbook Pro, Retina, and I love it. I love Macs! Have fun with yours. You know, it’s weird. My images used to fill the screen so I’m not sure what in the world is going on. I just tried clicking on it and noticed I can’t even make it bigger. It never used to be that way. USUALLY I put a link at the bottom of my recent images that say (should you wish to purchase this image, please click here) and that will take you to my store which is a larger image or you can go to lauramacky.com and usually find most images there but still…that is so strange. I’ll try to figure it out but I’m not sure I can. I’m so lousy at the WP interface!

    • Oh and YESSSS Keep doing those exercises. Most definitely they will help you with recovery. BIG TIME.

  4. You are my inspiration!! Truly. Yesterday I was going to slack off on my exercises, and I thought about your surgery, and so I did them. I love my mac, but here is what I have found: every time they do an update, they change things around, and it is all very tricky to learn. There has to be a way to make those images larger to fit the screen. Since I have a new mac, I am doing these one to one lessons at Apple, and I am going to talk to them about it the next time I am there, and I will let you know if I learn anything. And I find WordPress almost impossible to figure out. I have slacked off on posting there as well. I should try one more post there before the end of the year.

Leave a Reply

