Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Home sweet home!

3 Comments

There is no place like home, there is no place like home! As Dorothy clicked her ruby slippers…..well, maybe not quite Dorothy (because I can’t sing Somewhere Over the Rainbow like her) and definitely not ruby slippers. Will penguin socks do????? Thank you Gerry for my Socks!

Yesterday I was discharged from the hospital with a list of medications and vitamins along with some equipment and an ok from insurance to have a physical therapist come three times a week to the house. Bye bye to Casa de TKR, hello Home Sweet Home!

As they weaned me off the morphine onto something “milder” like percoset, I could feel the pain settle in as to what it was really like to have gone through a knee replacement, but fortunately I adjusted quickly and am settling into the new routine. I also need to be on a blood thinner for about ten days to prevent clots. Oh that reminds me of a joke……a boy says to his mom, “mommy, what’s a vampire?” The mother says to her son, “Shut up and eat your soup before it clots.” I couldn’t resist! 🙂

Being home is another adjustment, but a wonderful one. I’m in my own bed which I must say is HEAVENLY but I have to do everything myself as far as exercises, icing, walking, etc. Everything else, like cooking, cleaning, bringing me things, is done by my husband. When I got home yesterday evening, a company came to deliver my very own CPM machine.  I also need a high rise commode that fits over the toilet so it’s easier for me to sit down. Ahhhh, the joys of being an invalid!

But not for long! I plan on working hard, doing exactly what they say and to have the best knee I can possibly have.

Sipping my tea, typing on my ipad are two wonderful things that I took for granted before going in the hospital. Everything I do at home now will be appreciated and noted for progress. It will be fun to share my progress with you!! My goal is my birthday in March. From what I understand it takes about three months to get over the major stiffness, six months to feel semi normal and a year for the complete result. It will all be worth it in the end!

I wanted to give note to a high school friend, Bear, who has given me lots of encouragement and support. He’s been through a lot and I really appreciate his sharing with me how to deal with recovery. Thank you, Bear!!

20121215-085423.jpg

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

3 thoughts on “Home sweet home!

  1. Welcome home, cousin!

  2. I like your vampire joke!! Yes, it’s always good to be home, even if a person has been on an exciting trip to foreign lands, let alone a hospital trip.

Leave a Reply

