Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Adjustment Period

2 Comments

Whew…I had no idea being home was going to be such work!  Not only for me but for my husband.  I thank god every day that I have a husband who will do all these things for me and not complain.

I knew there would be challenges ahead, but until one is faced with them, you really don’t know how you’re going to handle them.  Let’s just say this is my adjustment period.  Everyone in my situation has them.  Even the simplest things like taking a shower require assistance, but as hard as it is, it feels wonderful when it’s done.  Those are the things I try to focus on.  Each day there will be a new challenge, a new accomplishment and something to be thankful for.

What I find most challenging is staying in the CPM Machine (Continuous Passive Motion).  They instructed me to stay in it for 6-8 hours a day with breaks in between, and if I can stay in it at night, then all the better.   It’s not exactly the most comfortable thing to do, but who said recovery would be comfortable!

CPM Machine

Also on my exciting agenda are exercises which I do three times a day along with my walking exercise in between my CPM sessions.  I use the term walking loosely as I’m still on a walker.  There is nothing more humbling than to be completely helpless.  It makes one truly appreciate one’s health!

Tomorrow physical therapy is coming and oh, I can’t wait for that!  I read somewhere that they are not to be your friend but are there to push you farther than you can yourself.  I have this vision of them coming in wearing a black cloak, holding a vice in one hand.  haha

Right now, it feels good have my kitty by my side.

I expect a lot from myself and perhaps this is a lesson in slowing down a bit and accepting things as they come.

Until next time…..

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

2 thoughts on “Adjustment Period

  1. Glad to hear that you are in good spirits and that your recovery is coming along. The CPM machine can seem like a hassle and it becomes tedious. A good book, a couple of movies, and sleeping go great with the CPM. I am not sure if you have one, but CVS sells a “cast cover” that fits over your leg and can protect the sutures when you take a shower. Nataly got one for me and it worked great. I also used a shower stool to help out.

    I know you know this, but don’t get impatient and try to hurry your recovery or try to do too much by yourself. The open invitation is there, if Dave needs a break or if I can do anything, do not hesitate to ask. I know how it feels to be in recovery mode, and I am out on winter break now, so please let me know if I can be of assistance.

    Keep posting and updating us all!

    Ryan

    • Thank you so much Ryan. The cast cover sounds good! I have one now that’s like a long plastic bag you put your leg into and over the knee. At that point there is a suction cup thing that surrounds the thigh and the whole thing works great but is really bulky. Maybe I’ll have Dave check that out while he’s at the pharmacy. And thanks for reminding me not to be impatient about my recovery. I have that tendency to overdo when I’m recovering from anything, so I can use all the reminders in that area that I can get. I’ll let Dave know that you are ready and willing. My brother and mom have been really great during this time and are scheduled for some relief duty soon.

      I’ve got movies recorded here and a couple audiobooks I’m listening to, so that really helps pass the time. I’m glad I did this during the bad weather because it makes staying inside not so horrible. lol

      How are you anyway??? Are you all healed up?

Leave a Reply

