Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Exit Strategy Complete!

5 Comments

Sayonara, CPM!  You will be gone in approximately 3 hours!  Yep, that’s right, my surgeon returned my call yesterday afternoon and confirmed I no longer have to use it.  Hurray!  

If you’ve been keeping up with my posts, you know I’ve been struggling in using the CPM machine and have gone through three machines and numerous attempts at making it tolerable with the use of additional foam padding, pillows, towels, etc.  Even though I realize the CPM is not suppose to feel like a day at the spa, I also instinctively knew that it should not be digging underneath my thigh and rubbing on the side of my knee.

During all these attempts at using the CPM machine, I started wondering if other people had problems using it.  Low and behold, I found numerous articles confirming my suspicion!  Some people can get pressure wounds around the knee area which which stalls recovery by creating additional challenges.

Studies also show that people recover the same with or without the use of a CPM.   I recalled a conversation with my insurance company when they explained they wouldn’t pay for the machine because of these very studies.  I began to wonder, do I really need to use it?

During my afternoon walk outside yesterday, my surgeon returned my call from earlier in the day.  He asked what my issues were with the machine and I explained about the digging under my thigh and rubbing on the side of the knee.  Then he popped the question!   He asked, “How many degrees can you bend your knee on your own?”  I responded, “90-95 degrees”.   Then out of the phone came music to my ears!  He said, “Oh, well then you don’t have to use it anymore.”  It’s amazing how few words can make someone so happy.  🙂

Screen Shot 2012-12-21 at 9.41.50 AM

My own conclusion is that since the hospital had me on it constantly every day for four days and I tried to use it at home as best as I could for a few days, that was enough to get me to the 90 degree bend which is obviously a magic number.  I’m not saying this is a medical definitive, but for me this seemed to work.

Last night I slept pretty good, best I have in a few days, and woke up this morning feeling a lot better than yesterday.  The stiffness in the morning is always a challenge but it seemed less today.  Life is good when one can make a bed on their own!  🙂

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

5 thoughts on “Exit Strategy Complete!

  1. After all my rehab, I had only 115 degree bend… It might be more than that now after 7 years…lol

  2. Glad you got off that machine. In medicine, one study says this and another study says that. A person’s head spins and they don’t know what to think.

    By the way, since I am reading this after the fact, and I read about 3-4 of your posts a day, I cannot figure out how to get back to where I stopped. I end up flipping through all of them. Does WordPress have bookmarks?? I will try just bookmarking this page with Safari.

Leave a Reply

