Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Who is that woman?!!

3 Comments

OMG!  Today is a momentous occasion!  I put makeup on!!   I almost scared myself when I looked in the mirror having put on some mascara and lipstick.  Geez, my heart was palpitating!  After I realized I didn’t need the defibrillator, I was comforted to know that I no longer looked like a pasty zombie.  Pasty white was never my color anyway.  😛

Looking at the clock this morning, I was keenly aware that my physical therapist, Brad, would be due shortly and to tell you the truth, I really wasn’t looking forward to it today.  No offense Brad, but sometimes I just don’t wanna see you!  LOL!  There are some days when enough is enough and today was one of mine.  Funny though, I think Brad must have some sort of sixth sense because he could tell that even though I had my makeup on, I was in no mood to have my leg stretched or to learn more exercises.  When he asked if I would just go outside for a walk, I was pleasantly surprised and almost had a lilt in my step…if it wasn’t for that darn cane.  haha

Today was about the things I CAN do, and the reassurance I got from Brad that I’m right on track really made me happy.  😀   Boy, did I need to hear that!  I AM doing great and I WILL be fine!  He said the most important thing right now is to yes, do my exercises, but to also go do things that make me happy.   Thank you so much Brad!  You made my day!!!

Being a good patient, I took Brad’s suggestion to heart; and since early in the day is so much easier for me than later on, I asked Dave if he would take me to Starbucks.

Screen Shot 2012-12-24 at 11.32.22 AM

Ahhhh, the cold, crisp air and the streets bustling with people.  I felt Xmas in the air!  Who would’ve thought paying almost $5 for a latte would make me so happy.  I’m ready for short little outings like this where I’m not gone too long but feel like I’m part of life again.

So here I am, back home again, leg up, ice on, and realizing that every day there is progress to be noted and appreciated.   And some day…maybe next year sometime, I will look down at my knees and say, “Which one was it again?”

Merry Christmas Eve to everyone!!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

3 thoughts on “Who is that woman?!!

  1. I’m catching up on your progress and enjoying your writing so very much. You are one amazing woman! Merry Christmas to you and Dave.

  2. Hi Lani! I’m so glad you’re enjoying my blog! Thank you for the card and your wishes here. Once I’m up and running, for sure we will get together for lunch. No one will be able to stop me once that happens! 🙂 Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

  3. Wow, Brad sounds intuitive, again, what luck to get a great physical therapist. Really nice that he sensed your mood and altered his plan to fit it.

Leave a Reply

