Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Ignorance is Bliss

6 Comments

Wow, getting up out of bed in the morning can be a tall order.  Right then, negative thoughts creep into my mind that say, “Lordy, will this knee ever get loose!”  It’s at that very moment, my hands want to reach for my iPad and Google information about other people’s experiences with knee replacements.  And it’s also at that very moment where I resist the urge to do so, push through the stiffness and make my way into the living room for my morning tea.

I wasn’t born in the information age, that’s for sure.  Back when I was a kid, we had phones with a dial, and we couldn’t go into a private spot to talk unless we had a phone in our own room.  I remember hearing about kids that had phones in their rooms and I always thought that sounded so luxurious!

A computer was put on my desk for the first time in the early 80’s, and I thought to myself, “What on earth am I going to do with this thing?”  Well, it didn’t take me long to figure it out and 30 years later.

Unfortunately, what this means is that information is sometimes too easily at my fingertips (although I will admit I use voice activation for most everything).  Sometimes we can get into trouble googling things.  Like with my knee replacement for example.  It has been soooo tempting to look up information on how long it will be before I can get rid of the cane, or how long will it be stiff in the morning, or what is the general recovery time before one can drive, or a whole host of other questions mulling around in my mind.

Googling-your-symptoms

But one thing my physical therapist said that always stuck with me.  DON’T GOOGLE!  Number one, everyone is different.  And most people that get on those forums are people who have complaints, so you’re really not getting the whole picture.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m no saint, and have twice looked on the internet for a couple of things, especially during my CPM debacle but I’ve been pretty good about resisting that temptation since.  It’s probably best I live in my own little knee replacement world.

So here I sit after my morning exercises and a bag of ice, and I once again have resisted the urge to compare myself to people who I don’t know and have successfully maintained my focus on moving forward.  I guess you can say ignorance is bliss!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

6 thoughts on “Ignorance is Bliss

  1. YOU ARE SO RIGHT!! I’m so glad your refraining from finding other peoples problems with rehab. like you say, you are you, and this recovery is yours. There are countless success stories that never get on the internet. Make your plan to recover 110% and stick to the plan, I’m looking at double knee replacement next year, will I do both at the same time?? I’m not sure. I am sure you will recover and be much better off than prior to surgery, Keep
    up the good work and keep your eyes on the prize,110% you got this!! Bear

  2. Laura,

    You are doing a great service for other potential knee replacement candidates. It is surely helpful for them to know what goes on from a patient’s perspective. I have reblogged your posts on my blog in an effort to get your experience out to my patients as well as others who may be nervous about the entire process. It is such a successful procedure. The success depends 50% on the surgeon and 50% on the partnership between the patient and the physical therapist.

    Hope you continue to do well.

    Andre

  3. This is a good reminder. 🙂 The cartoon is cute, and I admit that there have been times when I’ve fallen into the Google trap. 🙂

Leave a Reply

