Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Blow the Foghorn

Leave a comment

Have you ever woken from a good night’s sleep only to find yourself in a fog?  For those of you in the SF Bay Area, you can look outside almost every day and know what I mean.  The fog is, in part, what makes our area of the world so beautiful and the air so clean.

Screen Shot 2013-01-05 at 8.01.55 AM

But in this case, I’m really not talking about THAT kind of fog.  I’m talking about the kind in your head, when you open your eyes and squint to see the morning, or when you try to remember what day it is and you can’t.

Fog can be handy sometimes…like when you stand on the scale and can’t quite make out the numbers or if you have missed a hair coloring appointment and look in the mirror and don’t notice.  In this fog, I might as well be Maya Angelou or Jane Austen, right?  I mean, the similarities are amazing, right?  LOL!  😉

Being in this fog is not handy, however, when you’re trying to get up in the morning recovering from a knee replacement!  There can be only one reason for this fog lingering in my head and that has to be my medications.  Time to take less, that’s for sure!   I think everyone who has undergone major surgery comes to this realization, and that day for me is now.

Somehow, though, through all the haze this morning, I completed my exercises, and even went out for a walk in the fog.  I do think there should be some sort of physiological occurrence that happens so that when there is fog in your head and you go out for a walk in the fog, the fog is then cancelled out!

Ahh…the fog is starting to lift….time to get on with the rest of my morning.

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

Leave a Reply

