Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

The Nerves

Leave a comment

It’s two hours before my first out-patient physical therapy appointment. Am I nervous? Is the Pope Catholic? LOL! Other than my total knee replacement, I have a few other health issues which make it challenging for any kind of recovery, so yes, I’m a little anxious about it.

There are all kinds of things I’m wondering…will my therapist be a good one? (Don’t we all wonder that when we go to physical therapy?) I also wonder if I will be in writhing pain afterward. How many days will it be bad? How long will it take to recover? I wish I could not worry about things, but unfortunately, a friend of mine told me about her mom’s total knee replacement and that the PT was “brutal”. Fortunately she followed that up with her mom is doing really great and was glad she did it.

I do think that my anxiousness is not unusual and I will bet there are many, many people in my shoes. Blogging really helps me focus on something which helps enormously during my times of anxiousness. Sometimes I even find blogs by others who make me laugh, cry, think, and best of all distract me from this knee replacement.

In the next few days, you’ll probably see a flurry of posts from me reporting in on how my PT is going. Even though I have two PT sessions per week, there will be recovery time in between and my own exercises to perform at home. I might even check in a few times today after PT with little “bloggettes” updating you on how I feel.

For those who are seriously interested in this process, I want to do my best to share with you my complete experience. Also, I want to prove that this process works and that if you plow forward and do what you’re supposed to do, it will all be worth it in the end.

20130108-094845.jpg

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

Leave a Reply

