Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Degree of Separation @ Week 6

5 Comments

Today’s visit with my physical therapist, Leslie, was not as much work in-house as much as sharing with me new exercises to do at home.  I’ve never been so busy with exercise since I used to be a gym rat from the early 80’s to the early 00’s!

Last week, my extension was at 11 and I managed to get another degree today, so I’m at 10 now.  Everybody’s legs are different and mine were never at zero even before the knee replacement, so the goal for me is 8.  I’m so close!   Leslie measured my flexion and that’s at 115 now.  Goal for me there is 130.  That will come.  I’m not really worried about the flexion.  I’m still quite swollen and I can feel that the swelling is in the way of me bending my leg even more.  I also think it’s contributing to me not getting more extension.

protractor

One more thing that I need to work on is my gait, which is still completely off.  I really need to concentrate on walking with a more even pace.  If I had a video of Leslie demonstrating how I walk when I’m not concentrating, I would be embarrassed to post it!  🙂

Yesterday I visited a massage therapist for the first time in years.  He was amazing!  He worked on my back and I’ve noticed a huge improvement there.  Next week, he’ll work on my psoas muscle because it is so incredibly tight and it’s what’s making walking a chore.

Friday is my second post op with the surgeon where he will take xrays of my knee and see how I’m doing.  I’ll be working hard until my next post, so I’ll be back in a few days!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

5 thoughts on “Degree of Separation @ Week 6

  1. Keep up the good work, attitude and positive self image. Learning to walk again is hard I know. with your hard work a Laura gate will be doable. That heel toe timing will come back just never give up, always improve. Always count your blessings first before anything else, this always helps me.Bear

  2. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice
    from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about
    creating my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any points or suggestions? Many thanks

    • Not hard to set up, but not 100% intuitive. There are many free ones in wordpress. Just make sure you go to wordpress.com and not wordpress.org. The “widgets” they will refer to once you create your blogname are things like showing your community on the sidebar or showing how many followers you have or showing the search tool, etc. It took me awhile to figure that one out, lol.

      I also suggest you set up the blog so that you have to approve the comments prior to them being posted. This gives you absolute control over what is said in your comments. 🙂

      Hope that helps!

  3. An outstanding share! I’ve just forwarded this onto a co-worker who has been conducting a little homework on this. And he in fact bought me lunch because I found it for him… lol. So allow me to reword this…. Thank YOU for the meal!! But yeah, thanks for spending time to discuss this issue here on your internet site.

Leave a Reply

