Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

A Beautiful Spring Day!

Leave a comment

diablo4

Ahh, Mt. Diablo! Despite the name meaning “Devil” in Spanish, this beautiful, peaceful mountain is located in the San Francisco East Bay. I took this picture from our old house, and I will never forget seeing all the different personalities it had depending on the weather and the time of year. Why do I post this you ask? Well, as I look out the window right now, I see a beautiful spring day forming and I couldn’t help but be reminded of this mountain.

This morning I felt more spry than usual…if you can call getting up for tea “spry”. LOL! But seriously, I went for a short walk, and I mean SHORT…pretty much down the sidewalk and back, but it felt good to be outside, especially when the sun hadn’t rose yet and it was fairly quiet out. As I walked, I noticed that my knee is still quite swollen but I tried to focus on how nice it was outside just to get my mind off of it.

After returning home, I did my exercises, stretches, fed the cat, made the bed, and hmmm lessee…oh yeah, I’m posting this!

Today I’m going to see someone who uses an acuscope. If you’ve never heard of them, here’s a link to describe in detail what they do. (I only googled the internet for this link and have no affiliation with the author of the post.)

http://www.progressivetherapysystems.net/faq.htm

Basically the acuscope reduces pain and inflammation. I’ve seen first hand how this works on my own body. Prior to my knee replacement, I’d been having a foot problem (no doubt due to walking around on my bad knee), so I went to see “Dr. P” for treatment via this device. My foot was so swollen and painful when I entered the office, yet when I left, I could see with my own eyes how the inflammation had substantially diminished and I could feel the difference when I walked. This only after one treatment. It was simply amazing. You do need to go often, though, so that the treatment “holds” and you don’t revert back. I wanted to try and get my foot feeling better prior to the surgery, so I went probably 6 times and I’m glad I did. Now I’m going back for the knee.

So having said all that, here I am again in my chair, legs elevated, icepack on knee. We really have to stop meeting like this, don’t you think? I’m doing everything in my power to change that! I love our meetings, but I’d like to some day be sitting normally while I post how I’m getting ready to do a 3 mile walk!

To those in New England, I hope you survived the snow storm in one piece!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

Leave a Reply

