Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Victory is in Sight!

Leave a comment

As you all know, I’ve been finding it challenging getting my leg straight after my knee replacement on December 11, 2012.  I went for physical therapy for six weeks, twice a week and they could not get it straight.  Needless to say, it was a bit disconcerting, so I went back to my doctor and got a prescription for more physical therapy, and this time i went to a different place.

O-M-G!  Today was my second visit, and my therapist Jim got my leg straight!  I can’t believe it!  It’s been literally years since I’ve felt the back of my knee touch the table when my leg is extended.  There is hope!

victory-sunset I have to do all the work at home too, otherwise achieving a straight leg permanently won’t happen, but I’m doing everything I’m supposed to.  Jim has a plan and that doesn’t just include straightening my leg.  It includes working on all the muscles in my leg…quads, adductors, abductors, gluteals, etc., etc.   I even had to order something called “The Stick” which is much like a rolling pin to be used on my IT band and quads.  https://www.thestick.com/cgi-bin/commerce.cgi?preadd=action&key=HD-2400

I was there for 90 minutes and every bit of that time I was working.  It’s incredible to me that two physical therapy places can be so different!  I will never go anywhere else but this place if I can help it.  Of course, I hope I won’t be going too often…lol.

All I can say is that I’m glad I trusted my gut and didn’t accept what the other physical therapy place was saying which was “it will come in time”.  It will NOT come in time if you don’t have good physical therapy and are not instructed to do proper exercises at home which target your problem areas.

I’m stoked!  Tomorrow I will try driving and I just know I’m ready.  I feel it in my bones!  Literally!  🙂

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

Leave a Reply

