Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Pre-PT

2 Comments

Good morning!   How is it in your neck of the woods?  So much for our warm weather!

Screen Shot 2013-02-19 at 7.18.47 AM

Today is my third day of physical therapy with the “new” therapist.  All I can say is…eesh, he was right!  I just have to plow through the pain in order to strengthen my leg and knee.   No pain, no gain!

As I sit here with my leg extended out in front of me, heel on the ottoman, leg suspended between my heel and my hip, I think of the back of my leg feeling stretched.  Believe it or not, it’s not something that happens in the first minute.  It takes about 3 minutes for me to feel it.  I can also feel my other muscles in my leg desparately trying to compensate all because my leg has not been straight for years.  It’s amazing how the body protects itself!  I figure my leg is in school right now, relearning how to be a normal leg!

One other thing I’m doing, and call my crazy…..it seems I’ve gained a few pounds from laying around the house last year, so rather than wait till my knee is perfect, I decided to start a lifestyle change in the way I’m eating.   Yesterday I went to a Weight Watchers meeting near me and signed up!  I don’t have a whole lot to lose, but I figured I’d better get started before I gain even more.  Summer is just around the corner y’know!

Time to get myself going here.  I hope everyone has a great day!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

2 thoughts on “Pre-PT

  1. Good for you! You’re seeing yourself as a whole person. The effort you’re putting into your life right now is like putting a puzzle together. Everything is connected. Your drive and sense of humor will get you through this.

    Speaking of drive, have you tried it yet? I’ll call you soon. Lani

    • Thank you for your kind words! Almost ready for driving. Sooo close. I tried today and its okay for short distances and in the mornings, but I don’t trust myself in the afternoons or after PT.

Leave a Reply

