Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

iPad-Two, Me-Zero!

6 Comments

Okay, so this morning I remembered a funny story I thought I’d share with you.  The night before my surgery, I was laying in bed contemplating what life would be like with a new knee.  My goal was to be calm and accepting of what lie ahead of me, and I thought I was doing a pretty good job if I do say so myself.

As all this contemplation was going on, I thought i’d lay back, get comfy, and browse the internet on my iPad.  Flat on my back with only a pillow under my head, I had the iPad above me, using my thumbs to click on things to view.  Everything was just too wonderful because right then, it was like it all happened so fast….the iPad slipped out of my hands and the corner of it landed just below my eye.

ipadfalling

I thought, “OUCH”!!!  Then the realization hit me.  OMG!  My eye is getting big!  I jumped up and looked in the mirror and the horror set in of me developing a huge black eye.  Then I thought…how am I going to explain this?  Will people in the hospital think I’m abused??  It really was mortifying, but there was a part of me that thought it was funny.  😛

The next day when I was admitted to the hospital for my knee replacement, needless to say I felt compelled to explain this over and over….to the admissions woman, to the nurse, etc.  And when they rolled me into the Operating Room and were having me scoot from the gurney to the OR table, I felt this uncontrollable urge to make an announcement.  Stopping for a second, I raised my hand and said something like, “Oh, excuse me, but I need to make an announcement.  Just FYI, I was not punched in the face, my iPad dropped on me last night as I was relaxed in bed reading.”  Everyone gave out a laugh and one nurse made made a funny comment by saying…ohh you have an EYE-Pad!  haha!

You’d think after all that, I would’ve learned my lessson.  But only a few short weeks ago, I was doing the very same thing….in bed, pillow under my head, holding the iPad above me browsing the internet….when OOPSIE, I dropped the darn thing again yet this time it gave me a fat lip!

Have I learned my lesson?  Will i do it again? Maybe I should insert a poll here….

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

6 thoughts on “iPad-Two, Me-Zero!

  1. EYE-Pad??? Oh—MY—God!
    Laughing out loud

  2. He HE he,
    That is very funny.

Leave a Reply

