Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Sleeping with a TKR

2 Comments

Wow!  After two weeks of only sleeping 4-5 hours, I finally slept for a whopping 7-1/2!   What a difference!

sleeping-beauty

I was feeling so spacey and depressed, and add that to recovering from this knee replacement and it’s not a pretty picture, lol.   But I feel bright-eyed and bushy tailed…just in time for physical therapy.

Insomnia is nothing new to me since I battle with fibromyalgia, so I’ve kind of learned to live with it even though it still drives me batty.  But difficulty sleeping is a very common thing to have when you’re dealing with a total knee replacement.  I’ve noticed my bonesmart.org members practically all complain about the same thing, and we all get creative during those wee hours of the morning when sleep is nowhere to be found.   Personally, I enjoy putting on my noise cancellation headset and listening to my Holosync meditation (https://www.centerpointe.com/) through my iPad.  It relaxes me instead of tossing and turning in frustration.

So for all those who are going through this right now, I totally sympathize!  And for those who are about to have a TKR, please don’t be surprised if this happens to you.

Oh and good news!  Yesterday I had the best day I’ve had so far.  Hurray!

Okay, ready for my PT in one hour.  I always look forward to my leg being flat as a pancake!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

2 thoughts on “Sleeping with a TKR

  1. I know how you feel. Going through the ACL reconstruction, I was never able to sleep over 3-4 hours at a time. I think a lot of that was my sleep pattern being dictated by my pain meds. Once I got through the worst of the PT and could manage without the strong pain killers, I was able to reestablish my sleep schedule.

    Glad you are still in good spirits, and I hope you are kicking butt at PT right now. When life is back to normal this will all have been totally worth it! 😉

  2. Thanks Ryan! I am kicking butt and am getting stronger by the day. I love my physical therapist! I wanna do a plank in three months!

Leave a Reply

