Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

The Next Phase….

2 Comments

I had my three month post-op checkup with my surgeon yesterday.  I must say, he really is the nicest, most caring man!  He’s been my knee doctor for years and has done  surgery on it before, so he knows me pretty well.  I know you’re dying to know what happened so….

turn page

He examined my knee, feeling the scar tissue commenting on that it looked good.  He mentioned that my ROM is currently at functionality but he’d like to see if the PT can increase my flexion.  Functionality lets me climb stairs, get dressed, drive, etc., but it doesn’t allow for that extra flexiblity so you don’t notice you have so much of a limitation.   I was explaining to my doctor that Jim, my PT, had gotten my leg to 125 but that was with him doing it.  That’s very good news though because it means the possibility is there!   My straightening was good and he said that some people never get to zero degree extension in their daily lives because it’s just the way their bodies are built, but he wants to see if I can get a little bit more.  Thankfully, he gave me 8 more PT visits.  🙂

I asked him about the swelling and he said that can take 6 months to a year to completely subside in some people…probably meaning ME people!  haha    Let’s just say that I won’t be wearing shorts anytime soon!

My knee is also less “hot”.  Heat means that the blood is flowing trying to heal the area, and the fact that it’s less hot means it’s getting better.

So as you can see, I’m embarking on the next chapter!  My next checkup with the surgeon is in two months, and I can’t wait to see how much I’ve improved by then!

Hope everyone has a great day!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

2 thoughts on “The Next Phase….

  1. I had totally forgotten about what I called the “knee-fever”…..lol

Leave a Reply

