Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Life of Pi

Leave a comment

Well, life has been a lot more normal these days!  I’m still doing my exercises religiously in hopes of achieving more ROM and strength, and I still can’t do certain things as if I didn’t have a knee replacement.  However….it seems I’m noticing more improvement in so many ways.

Yesterday we went to see Life of Pi.  It was my first time attempting to sit for that length of time and I was wondering how I’d handle it.  The good news is that I made it through the 2+ hour movie without having to get up from my seat!  Hurray for me!  I will say that I was shifting a lot to get comfortable but we went to an early show so there were a total of maybe 8 people in the entire theater, so not a problem as far as disturbing others.  🙂  Getting out of my seat is the challenge and I feel like an old lady, but I’m sure that will improve with time.

life_of_pi____by_megatruh-d5noigd

Life of Pi really is a beautiful movie.  I don’t want to give away the plot so if you haven’t seen it, you might not want to read my interpretation.  It seemed to me that the movie had a couple of meanings.  The first is that all our dreams, ideologies, the utopias we build in our minds, come out of our denial of the reality of life as it truly is. We often prefer our magical thinking to accepting and facing the reality of our own lives, as did Pi.  In fact, often we need it, as it helps and comforts us and allows us to survive.   The last part of that statement is my second interpretation in that the “magical thinking” is faith in god and that is exactly what kept Pi alive.  Even weaving those two interpretations together could represent the struggle within oneself between what we can physically see vs. what we feel in our hearts.

It felt good to get out into the world again!  Next test will be a drive up to the foothills in a couple weeks which I haven’t done in literally months.  I’m really looking forward to it!

Have a beautiful Sunday!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

Leave a Reply

