Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Stepping it Up!

Leave a comment

It’s been a few days now that I’ve been on my own without my physical therapist and things are going pretty good!  Yesterday I didn’t have the best day and felt kind of stiff, but!….I did end up going to the gym anyway and rode the elliptical and bike for a bit.  I even got my heart rate up for a bit!   The knee still does not feel normal; however, just two days ago I was talking to my husband while walking to the car and I commented how I forgot about it for a minute.  It’s coming…normalcy is just around the corner!  Yeah yeah, go ahead and make jokes that I’m not normal.  😛

But back to the gym……since I started stepping up my routine, and I say that with a bit of a laugh since I’m not exactly doing what I used to do, I realized that I should have a towel with me just like the old days, lol.  Since the knee replacement, I haven’t really been exercising enough to warrant use of a towel, but tomorrow when I head off to the gym, I’m going to make sure I have one.  You’ve heard of people throwing in the towel, right?  Well, I’m going to throw myself one!

vectorstock_812245

I’ve been increasing my aerobic exercise each time I go to the gym by one minute, while still doing all the prescribed strengthening exercises at home.   I’m up to twenty minutes, but I move around on three different machines during that time.  Mixing it up is best for my leg and knee so that I hit the muscles  differently each time and try not to stress any one for too long.

My goal is 30 minutes on one machine without noticing my knee.  I’m not putting a time frame on it, but I will keep that as my goal.  I can’t wait to be on the elliptical for 30 minutes while rocking out to my favorite music!

Enjoy your weekend!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

Leave a Reply

