Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Habits

Leave a comment

No, this post is not about nuns’ clothing, lol.   I was thinking today about the word “habit” and how it can be a good thing or a bad thing.

First, the bad:  Over the years, my body walked “around” my bad knee and then caused other pains in my leg and back.  Because I could barely do anything physical for quite some time, I developed bad habits of sitting in front of the computer or television, being hypnotized and feeling like a slug.

Now here’s the good:  I’m now recovering from my knee replacement so well that I’m starting to once again do the things I loved so much like exercise, photography, and accomplishing things around the house that I couldn’t do before.  I’m getting into the habit of doing good things for myself once again.

Some things aren’t easy to get back into the habit of, though.  Also, the reverse is true…some habits are more of a challenge to break.  I found some interesting quotes on habits I’d like to share.  It’s amazing how the word habit can be used negatively or positively.

“A man who can’t bear to share his habits is a man who needs to quit them.” ~ Stephen King

“The chains of habit are too weak to be felt until they are too strong to be broken.” ~ Samuel Johnson

“Motivation is what gets you started.  Habit is what keeps you going.”  ~Jim Ryun

“A nail is driven out by another nail. Habit is overcome by habit.” ~ Desiderius Erasmus

Picture of the Day  – I was going to Starbucks for my coffee (grande nonfat 2 pump sugar free vanilla latte, lol) and the car next to me had a dog sticking his head out of the sunroof. He was so cute!  I spoke with the owner and asked if his dog was friendly and he reassured me he was.  “Habby” was the dog’s name and what a lover boy!  He loved to be scratched and petted.  Made my morning!

dog

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

Leave a Reply

