Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

A Cycle in My Life

3 Comments

Somewhere along the line, a few years ago, I lost the ability to trust my own instincts.  I’m not sure if it was due to all the chronic pain I had or what, but my instincts definitely high-tailed it out of my life for awhile and were nowhere to be seen.

Chronic pain can really mess with your mind.  I became less confident, I felt my opinions weren’t valued, I felt criticized all the time, I allowed myself to become powerless and felt “crazy”, I didn’t socialize as much because I couldn’t drive and walk and do much in a physical way, and I couldn’t even make a simple decision because I was too depressed.   But underneath all that there was my inner voice calling my name way off in the distance.  It took me awhile to hear it through, what is now, a diminishing cloud of pain; but finally I’m hearing it, and it’s allowing me to take positive steps in my life.

Every few years there seems to be a cycle in my life when I learn a valuable lesson and growth happens.   I guess this is one of these cycles!   ALWAYS listen to your instincts.  Never doubt them because for you, they are your truths.

“Trust instinct to the end, even though you can give no reason.”
~ Ralph Waldo Emerson

lilyThis image was taken at the Ruth Bancroft Garden…it was my first day out with my photography tutor.  Looking forward to more!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

3 thoughts on “A Cycle in My Life

  1. Glad you are feeling better and going forward!

  2. Thank you, Cathy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

