Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Nine days away from Six Months Post Op!

8 Comments

Wow, I can’t believe it’s been so long since I’ve posted!  Normally I try to post every couple of days.  Good to get back to you here.

Today I noticed an improvement with my knee.  I got up this morning and was busying myself with taking care of the cat, tidying up, having a small bowl of granola, reading the news, and poking into a few forums I belong to.  Finally it was time to leave for the gym and hubby and I started heading for the car when all of a sudden I realized …… I forgot about my knee!

The only reason I thought of my knee was because I’m so used to thinking of it…lol, so I decided to analyze how it felt.  I noticed I felt the incision area but it didn’t feel as swollen.  It also seems to look less swollen than before thank goodness.  Another thing I noted was that I felt my leg extending properly as I walked and that my strides were the same on both sides.  The foot and hip issues I had previously, due to my bad knee, have almost resolved themselves.  The groin issue is still slightly with me, but it has improved significantly.

Oh and by the way, I’ve been getting those zingers in my knee occasionally…the ones that indicate nerves are regenerating.  Every time I go through a phase of those, I’ve noticed an improvement afterward.  Coincidence?  Science?  Hope?  Hmmm…whatever works I say!

Today at the gym, I had a great workout too!  I was sweating for a change and actually had to use my towel a few times to dry myself off.   Ahhh…shades of the old days!  The spinning class was going on right next to me and I could see them through the glass.  My new goal is to be participating in the spin class within six months.  I may not spin like the best person in the class, but right now I know there’s no way I can even enter the room.  Six months from now, I will be there.  I am going to do it!!!!

Spin-Class-JokesOne thing, however, that I need to keep in mind….my neck.  My long-standing issue with my neck is still here, so I really need to be mindful of what I’m doing in that gym.  I’d love to weight train, but that’s just not possible and I’m okay with it.  As long as I can move my legs and get that cardio in, I’m a happy camper.

newdayThis photo was taken from a Vista on Hwy 4 on the way to Arnold.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

8 thoughts on “Nine days away from Six Months Post Op!

  1. Pingback: Nine days away from Six Months Post Op! | Custom Physical Therapy

  2. You’re doing so great! Good for you! (High Five!) I’m psyching myself up for knee #2 which will happen towards the end of July. Keep up the good work.

  3. Congrats on almost 6 months! You will be at that spin class in no time! I am almost 4 seem to have gone backwards past few days my knee is sore and swollen I am thinking it is the weather. Damp and chilly.

  4. Good to hear that you are doing great after your knee surgery .You should be able to stop using your crutches or walking frame and resume normal leisure activities six weeks after surgery. However, it may take up to three months for pain and swelling to settle down. It can take up to a year for any leg swelling to disappear.The only thing that is important is you should be really careful while doing any kind of exercise.

Leave a Reply

