Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Six Month Post Op Today!

6 Comments

Good morning WordPress!  It’s my six month post-op anniversary today.  WOW.  I can’t believe it’s almost Christmas again!  😛

I’ve taken a couple days off from the gym in preparation for our plane flight tomorrow.  We’re going to a family reunion and I want to make sure my knee is as comfy as possible.   I’ve noticed the thing I struggle with the most is being seated for extended periods of time, so the plan is for me to sit in an aisle seat.  I guess that means my hubby and I will be sitting across from each other because at almost 6’5″, he also needs an aisle.  (For some reason he always gets stuck behind someone who decides to recline their chair.  Let’s see if that happens again.  I’ll keep track.  :P)

We’re going back to see my Greek relatives in Michigan.  It’s my aunt’s 80th birthday and my second cousins are graduating from high school and college.  It will be a busy week but it should be fun.  Just think My Big Fat Greek Wedding without the Windex!

I’m planning on bringing my yoga strap which is what I use to keep my knee flexible every day.  My therapist had told me to do this for a lonnnnnng time, probably a whole year.  It really helps to stretch out my groin area and keep it loose.  For years it learned such bad habits and I don’t want to go backward.

At least now I can wear a pair of cute shoes on the night of my aunt’s 80th.  There for awhile before my replacement, and even after, I couldn’t even entertain wearing any kind of cute shoe other than a cute running shoe.

I’ll update you on how the plane flight went and how I’m doing.  It will be interesting to see how this all pans out.  It’s kind of a test run for longer flights we’d like to take to Europe.

succulent-1smugThis was taken in SF across the street from a photography store.  I saw them in a planter and couldn’t resist.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

6 thoughts on “Six Month Post Op Today!

  1. That is a pretty picture! Hope your plane ride was good and you are having fun!

  2. Congrats on the six month milestone! It’s a big one. I remember marking my progress by thinking “two weeks ago I couldn’t do that…” and so forth. You’ve come a long way baby! 🙂

Leave a Reply

