Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

My Big Fat Greek Reunion

4 Comments

OMG…you really haven’t seen anything until you’ve been around my family for a few days. There is a short lull right now before the next event which is a graduation party for my second cousin, so here I sit, leg up and relaxing while everyone is getting ready. We’ll be heading over to their house in a couple hours.

The flight over to Michigan from California went smoothly with a plane change in Denver. I sat on the aisle which I thought would almost be necessary for my knee, but I found out that I didn’t stretch it out as much as I thought I would. It was more convenient to get up more easily for the bathroom rather than to stick out my leg and trip the flight attendant. πŸ™‚ The knee did really well though even with the long walk in Denver to get to our other plane. Oh, and as a side note, the person sitting in front of my hubby did not recline. I promised to report on that, and I didn’t want to keep you in suspense. πŸ˜€

We’ve had a really great time so far and have had lots of laughs! Yesterday, I was kind of struggling with the knee in that it was more swollen along with my ankle from not having elevated it except for sleep for a few days. So after including more elevation yesterday, and after a good night’s sleep, I’m ready to rock and roll today!

Right now I have this leftover smile on my face from listening my cousin Jim talk about his coaching little league baseball. OMG…that was hilarious! He’s considering making a musical out of it, lol. Well, maybe that’s an exaggeration, but it certainly could’ve been a stand up routine. Man that was funny!! My cousin Paul does an imitation of a Greek waiter that’s hilarious as well. I really need to video him doing that because it’s hysterical!

Last night we went to Greek Town to Pegasus restaurant where I had my fix of Greek lamb chops. OMG, they are the BEST! It has been so wonderful to see my Uncle Myron, Aunt Chris, cousins, their wives, the kids, etc., etc.

I never would’ve been able to make this trip before my knee replacement, and I’m grateful that I’m able to sit, walk, and enjoy being a normal person again! Well, sort of, lol.

20130615-105719.jpg

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

4 thoughts on “My Big Fat Greek Reunion

  1. Send our regards to Auntie Ging and Uncle Daryl… thanks πŸ˜€

  2. Laura I’m so thrilled for you to hear that your not only managing this trip but enjoying it so much too πŸ™‚
    To chip in with achievements I managed a 3 hour trip on the motorbike yesterday πŸ™‚ Paying for it a tiny bit today but not as much as I thought I would! Enjoy the rest of your reunion vacation & I’ll be in touch soon πŸ™‚
    jaki xx

    • Thank you so much Jaki! I’m so glad you managed a motorcycle trip! That’s really an accomplishment! We will be on our way home early tomorrow. Talk with you soon! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

