Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Before & After

8 Comments

I’m noticing that some of my older pictures aren’t looking like I thought they did when I processed them.  As I grow as a photographer and a post processor, I notice things about my old pictures that I don’t care for.  I really knew very little about how to handle images back then.  Not that I’m an expert now, but I do understand some basics that I didn’t know about before.

Below is a picture of Mosquito Lake in California originally taken in July 2011.   The top image shows the original processing, and the one below I reprocessed just a few minutes ago.  (Note:  I reprocessed from a jpeg as I did not have the original raw image to work from.)   The reprocessing consisted of correcting color cast through a channel mask, enhancing details, lightening shadows and adding a Graduated Neutral Density filter.  Soon I’ll be back out taking more pics…in the meantime…..

 

mosquito2_1

 

mosquito2_2

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

8 thoughts on “Before & After

  1. Wow, what a difference. Beautiful.

  2. Wow what a difference… You do beautiful work makes me want to take up photography!

  3. Lovely photos.
    Thank you for liking my postings and I hope that you will be visiting again soon!

  4. Just think of it as two different weeks of winter! Sunny day – cloudy day! I do admit the top one is more calming.

Leave a Reply

