Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Tomales Bay Ship Wreck

18 Comments

Wow, it’s been awhile since my last post mainly due to a nasty case of bronchitis.  Thankfully I’ve finally recovered and am back behind the lens!

Yesterday we took a drive Point Reyes, California for the day with the Point Reyes Lighthouse as our destination.  One stop we made along the way was a famous “abandoned boat” in Tomales Bay.   There are several shipwrecks in the area, yet this one seemed to merely be an abandoned boat with not much history other than it is popular with photographers.   You can see from the map that Tomales Bay is north of San Francisco and East of Point Reyes.  (As a side note, Bodega Bay to the north was where Alfred Hitchcock’s “The Birds” was filmed.)

map

Below is the abandoned boat in all its glory.  This boat has been photographed many times, and I tried to put my own spin on it.  Within the next few days, I’ll have more pictures of incredible Point Reyes and the lighthouse there.

boat-web

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

18 thoughts on “Tomales Bay Ship Wreck

  1. Love the photo!

  2. This is definitely a popular subject to photograph. You did well with it.

  3. Thanks for following my blog. You might want to check the “Jane Ingram Allen’s Art Projects” “For the Birds” on my blog. This was the project we did in Point Reyes Station in September 2013.

  4. I’m a NYer currently living in TX (ugh) and I’ve always been curious about this place, but I feel like if I visited I would end up taking the same shot that others have already done (wouldn’t want to waste a trip). Your take on this is really good. I like the tones and muted colors.

  5. That’s one of the nicest compliments! Thank you so much! 🙂

  6. I really like your post-processing choices here, Laura–very effective for your personal touch on the subject matter. Nice work! -Gary

  7. Nice edit. It adds character to the shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

