Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Hope & Giving

8 Comments

In light of the horrific after effects of Hurricane Haiyan/Yolanda in the Philippines, I started thinking.  Yes, normally that can be quite dangerous!  haha   But in all seriousness, seeing the devastation that’s occurred in the Philippines, I realized how much I have to be thankful for.   Right now, there are thousands and thousands of people who, in the blink of an eye, have nothing.

It got me to think about Christmas and what it really means.   Does it really mean giving each other gifts?  Or does it mean something more.  There are only adults in our family in this part of the country, and I wondered if instead of giving each other gifts, if we could take that money and donate it to the disaster in the Philippines.   We are blessed and fortunate and all of those good things.  Why not give to those who need it instead and experience the true spirit of Christmas!   So after consulting with my hubby, we sent an email to the rest of the family expressing our desires.

It seems my idea has been met with love and generosity!  I’ve received responses from almost everyone and they are generously giving via their charity of choice to this cause.  It’s our little cause.  Just a few people here wanting to help people on the other side of our planet.  What if everyone did this?  How could we affect change?   Just my thoughts in the universe of wordpress.

Here’s a sunrise picture I took this morning….to me it represents hope for the people in the Philippines.  And a BIG THANK YOU to my family for participating in this!

sunrisenov14-web

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

8 thoughts on “Hope & Giving

  1. Tolles Bild lieber Gruß und ein schönes Wochenende Gislinde

  2. Life is not life without hope, without giving 🙂

  3. Thanks Theresa. Time for me to start giving back.

Leave a Reply

