Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Cheesy Post

4 Comments

Yesterday my hubby and I volunteered through our church at SF City Impact to feed people less fortunate than ourselves in the Tenderloin district of San Francisco.  (If you want, you can read  more about this event here:  http://sfcityimpact.com/blog/2013/11/17/farrington-thanksgiving-outreach).

Both of us had kitchen duty, and while my hubby was busy making salads, I got to know a lot about cutting cheese.  I was partnered with Wade, the master cheese slicer of all time, lol.  We filled trays and trays of cheese!  Seriously…I’ve never seen so much cheese in my life!  There were hearty salads, roast beef, mashed potatoes, and I’m not even sure what else since I was too busy cutting cheese.   After a few hours of sweat, and probably at least 75 humongous blocks of cheese sliced, we finished up knowing we had helped serve 6,000 meals!

After that we went to breakfast and then took a drive to Twin Peaks in SF.   (My breakfast did not have cheese in it, lol.)

Below you can find a pic I took from Twin Peaks and a pic of my cheese slicing partner.  I wish I had taken more pictures, but my hands were too full of Monterey jack haha.  I used my iPhone for the picture of the master cheese slicer and my regular camera for the Golden Gate picture.  What a great day!

twinpeaksgg-web

IMG_3878

IMG_3879

All I can say about my knee is that the replacement held up okay although it was sore after we were done volunteering and required icing.  My left knee was killing me and I can’t wait to get it replaced on January 16.   Nuff said about that!  The benefits greatly outweighed my being uncomfortable for a few hours.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

4 thoughts on “Cheesy Post

  1. Best post about cutting cheese I’ve read in a long time. : )
    Love the GGB shot!

  2. What a great day! Not so cheesy after all. 😉 Hope your January surgery will be a superb success.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

