Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

We can never have too many shots of……..

8 Comments

….you guessed it…..The Golden Gate!  I can’t help myself.   I’ve searched high and low for groups that deal with addictions related to taking pictures of the Golden Gate, but for some reason I just can’t find any, lol.   So I’ve relinquished myself to the fact that I cannot be stopped.  Bwahahaha!

There are thousands of shots of this bridge, and I’ve been attempting to take new angles or process them in different ways so they look unique.  Here’s the latest “art” of the Golden Gate.  (For you photography purists out there, you might wanna just skip this one.)

Golden Gate

 

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

8 thoughts on “We can never have too many shots of……..

  1. ~Like a scene from a dream!

  2. To anyone audacious and silly enough to decry making artworks out of photographs, I have several things to say.

    First, the manipulation of photographs is almost redundant, considering the inherently skewed ‘truth’ of any photo, born of the photographer’s choosing what we see (or don’t see), our POV, the intensity and color and focus of the image, and all kinds of other aspects of it. Photos never were strictly factual, and as soon as anyone knew how to take photos they started manipulating them further using not only the developmental tools of the darkroom but also wholly fictional images with ghosts and fairies and a host of other entertaining or just plain misleading falsehoods.

    To this I’d add that, knowing how this idea was in play from so early, adding digital editing and manipulative capabilities merely extended the range of modes through which photos could be transformed into all manner of artworks.

    Not to mention that the artist whose work is shown above 😉 does delightful things with photography and its treatment, ending in such lovely pieces as this view of the bridge. It makes me think of mid-century (20th) Japanese illustrations, and that’s a very good thing!

    • What incredible clarity on a subject that seems to come up again and again. I also believe that these tools have expanded our ability to create art. Before a camera there was only painting and before that just charcoal and before that etchings.

      Thank you so much for the compliment in comparing the treatment of the bridge to mid-century Japanese illustrations! I am beyond humbled. 🙂

  3. I love it….the color of the cars and background….glad I’m not a purist”

  4. I can’t get over how small those vehicles look on that bridge. Such a great shot. 🙂

Leave a Reply

