Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Fog in the Trees

67 Comments

Living close to San Francisco, we get a lot of fog here.  Usually the fog occurs during spring and summer in the mornings, but once in awhile we’ll get that low-lying type probably because we have a lot of hills surrounding us.  Yesterday morning, I looked out our back window and saw the low-lying type.  It was so pretty that I literally jumped up from my computer (where I was reading my WordPress Reader, of course) and snapped this picture.

I took the photo in monochrome on my camera, brought it into photoshop where I adjusted the contrast till I was satisfied, and then brought it into Nik Silver Efex for final adjustments. UPDATED:  I actually tried a suggestion someone made by creating three images in Nik Efex, bringing them into photoshop and then masking to come up with the final image (first one below).  I think it came out much better than the older one which I’ve included at the bottom.

Fog in the Trees

Fog in the Trees

Fog in the Trees

Fog in the Trees (old one)

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

67 thoughts on “Fog in the Trees

  1. Really nice photo. We do also have mountains al around us, which gives this fog in humidity days.
    Irene

  2. What a beautiful, peaceful image!

  3. Your B&W skills are just great Laura. Would love to see more.

  4. Love this picture! Hope you are doing well!

  5. Great photo… mystic…

  6. Nice shot. I must admit I always shoot in colour and convert to b&w in lightroom. I feel I have more control over the tones in b&w that way.

    • That’s what I’ve done on the maybe 5 shots I’ve ever presented, lol. I just wanted to try it out. Someone said that it’s more accurate if you take it in-camera first but what do I know. Very little actually! lol

  7. Holy Macky… Laura, I really like this shot… the depth in this in b/w is just stellar!!!! The foreground framing by the pine tree just brings you right in.

  8. Reblogged this on mikepillowsphoto and commented:
    When we talk about what speaks to us… just take a look at this b/w by Laura Macky. The depth and tone just bring you right in. This is what a pic should do for us… love it!!!!

  9. I tried Silver Efex, but it is a bit slow and I can get the results I like in Lightroom or ACR.

  10. Even though I am a fan of high contrast I found the first photograph more pleasing it was ‘softer’ and fit the foggy mood better….it is a great shot. I was wondering have you taken any pictures of ‘The Bridge’ in the fog? I have seen some truly amazing ones with the bridge breaking through the soup of a thick fog….

    • You’d think I would’ve taken pictures of the fog over the bridge, but I haven’t. 😦 One of these days I will. For some reason lately, I haven’t been over there at just the right time to capture the spires through the fog. I have taken many golden gate shots though! lol Just none in the fog. It’s in the back of my brain though. Somewhere, lol. And thanks for the compliments on the shot!

  11. Awsome and a bit mystic. Like these photos:)

  12. I live in the mountains so rather than fog, we get low clouds that hang in the trees. It can be sunny and clear ‘down below’ while we have the clouds. I’ve always loved the feeling of mystery in shrouded trees and this photo catches that. I’m not a photographer so a lot of your explanation about the photo didn’t mean much, but the photo itself did. I felt at home. Glad you caught this view for us.

  13. Just beautiful Laura. The first photo is definitely more striking because the contrast is much higher.
    Fog is so beautiful.

  14. Really nice Laura, I love the feel you’ve achieved with these images 🙂 Well done!

    • Thank you so much! I’m going out later today to try to see some black and white. It’s really foreign to me but I’m enjoying the learning process.

      • What I especially love about black and white, particularly with portraits, is how powerful form becomes. And the same applies with landscapes – by removing color, you can lead the viewer to experience and see things they may have missed otherwise. I’m looking forward to seeing more of your work!

        • This may sound awful but I love looking at others’ pictures of people, but I don’t particularly like taking people. What I do love is landscape and architecture. I do hope to expand my horizons! Thank you for your encouragement.

  15. Simply awesome! Both pictures are haunting and dramatic. The additional work you put into the top image is subtle but certainly adds beautiful depth. You are very talented!

  16. Yes, I like the reworked one more. Thank you for sharing what you did.

  17. Beautiful picture!

  18. Reblogged this on SFoxWriting's Blog and commented:
    Everyone check this blog post out ! Its simply mystifying!

  19. Kinda spooky, full of mystery but great snapshots!

  20. Reblogged this on love from tara and commented:
    Check out Laura’s blog, she’s fab 🙂

  21. This looks absolutely fantastic. I love the way the trees stand against the fog.

  22. Reblogged this on healthsmartmomma.

  23. Flog for all of us is pretty universal. Lovely to see it in beautiful photography and not experiencing it personally !

Leave a Reply

