Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

A Little Piece of the Woods

29 Comments

Obviously I just can’t get enough of Muir Woods.  Those of you who’ve been following my blog have seen the images I took there, and I loved it so much that I brought a piece of it home with me!

What’s in the dish is called a “burl”.  One of the keys to the survival of the redwood is its regenerative abilities, and one of these regenerative capabilities involves the growth of a burl.  A burl is made up of dormant redwood stems, is covered in bark and grows when a redwood is cut, damaged, injured, or diseased.  In addition, saplings may sprout from these burls and trees that grow from these samplings are genetically identical to the original tree.

The burl is kept in a wooden dish (or glass but I found wood to be much prettier) filled with 1/4-1/2″ of water.  Only two weeks ago when I purchased it, the sprouts were barely a 1/4″.  I suppose in the next year I’ll have to find a place outside or cut a hole in our ceiling.  lol

I’ll post it’s progress every few months or so just for kicks.

Redwood Burl

Redwood Burl

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

29 thoughts on “A Little Piece of the Woods

  1. That is very nice! Pretty!

  2. Keep posting for the next few hundred years on the growth! Nice!

  3. Love that you did this Laura. We def need more new redwoods.
    Just don’t keep it in the house :-\

  4. That’s an interesting thing you’ve just told me that I didn’t know… I look forward to its progress…

  5. I’m looking forward to follow your little tree.
    Irene

  6. That is wonderful that you can do this. I hope you have somewhere outside to plant it when it begins to outgrow the bowl. lol

  7. Take only photographs, leave only footsteps – but you’re forgiven this time. 🙂 You better start thinking where you’re going to plant this outside soon.

  8. I absolutely LOVE this photograph!! I am so glad that I found your blog! I have been a subscriber of Leanne Coles blog for a long time now and I am glad she had your link in her latest post.

  9. Well now I have to have one! Crazy how such a mighty tree can grow from such a little burl.

Leave a Reply

