Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Waxing Gibbous

35 Comments

Last night was so beautiful!  I went out in search of the perfect location for the moon rising.  The first place I went to had been blocked off, so I went to Plan B.  These moon images were taken from my neighborhood a few blocks away overlooking Mt. Diablo to the east.  The sunset image was taken directly west from the same location.  I couldn’t believe I was the only one there!

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

35 thoughts on “Waxing Gibbous

  1. Stunning shots Laura!! the first two remind me of France!! But of course California is hilly vineyard country too! as is our Okanagan Valley in BC. I have to get back to California sometime!. – Drop by my woods!

  2. Wow. That first shot is stunning. You write with your camera 🙂

  3. Excellent capture Laura. I like the full moon over the hills best.

  4. The first image is the perfect balance of day/night. Shows that we all need a plan B when we go out to shoot.

  5. Beautiful shots, especially the first one. It is so perfect it almost looks like an illustration 🙂

  6. Stunning my friend. 🙂

  7. these are really stunning.

  8. I was tempted to Pin that first shot to my food Pinterest board, ‘I Could Eat That!’. But, luscious as it is, I thought it deserved its place on my ‘SWELL ART’ board instead. 🙂
    xo

  9. I love these images Laura. The mountain in the image on the left adds a great deal of scale and perspective. I also really like the colours in the sunset image, and you’ve framed the hydro poles nicely. I probably would have discounted that shot because of the poles and wires, but you’ve used them quite well here.

  10. Never thought I would say this but, love the pylons. MM 🍀

  11. I’m most drawn to your first image, Laura, with its deeper saturation and detail in the moon. I’m really wondering, though, at your response to Lisa’s comment, in which you wrote: “There’s only one thing not real about it…the stars.” Did you superimpose them from a much longer exposure? If so, they’re still real, aren’t they?

    • I used a star image which wasn’t even that great really but I changed the layer to vivid light, reduced opacity just a tad and added a gradient. The vivid light made it come to life and gave it that glowy look. Thank you for the compliment and asking me about it!

  12. Wow, amazing photos!!!! I love the moon:)

Leave a Reply

