Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Surf’s Up!

67 Comments

My next entry for the Monochrome Madness hosted by Leanne Cole is here!   The complete gallery containing all the submissions can be found here in a few hours:  http://leannecolephotography.com/

As most all of you probably know, I love the beach and lately I can’t seem to get enough of it.   This is another shot from Rodeo Beach, and it was actually a fairly nice day for a Northern California beach day despite all the fog rolling in.  This means I didn’t have to wear a parka lol.  Surfers were everywhere enjoying the waves, and I was busy clicking away and saw this scene.  I’d like to go back sometime in the next couple months to try more surfing shots.

Surf's Up @ Rodeo Beach

Black and White of Surfers @ Rodeo Beach north of San Francisco in Marin Headlands

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

67 thoughts on “Surf’s Up!

  1. Perfect capture – you could not have composited a better subject grouping.

  2. Another fantastic image Laura… you are a master. This tells a terrific story. I love it and can’t wait to see the rest of the entries this week.

  3. beautiful contrasts of air & sea, sky & sand, black & white.
    wonderful composition.

  4. WoW! Great shot!
    (Maybe I will return to California some day…… uh, no.)
    ‘Galveston! Oh Galveston!’

    Great stuff Laura.

  5. Nice eye to capture the surfers in the wet suits with the kite hanging over head. The composition really works here. Great shot.

  6. B&W is so graphically dramatic, and this is a wonder shot.

  7. You already know I like this image, it is fantastic, really draws you in.

    • Thank you Leanne 🙂 I’m just now browsing through the gallery while eating my sushi, lol. There are some incredible images here! i’m so glad we’re doing this. It’s fun to see what people come up with. Thank you for handling all this by the way!

      • Funny I read you eating sushi, and I’m thinking, but it is only 7am. Haha.
        We did get some incredible images, and I love seeing what people send me. I really enjoy doing this too, and this week was the first time where I went out and took a shot thinking this is going to be great for the challenge. No thanks needed for that. I am happy to do it.

  8. Surfing shots are awesome. I love capturing them 🙂
    This one is wonderful.

  9. Good morning from Oz!! 🙂
    Laura, your image this week is… Mmmm… Perfect!
    I love everything about it, especially the composition and subject matter.
    Just wow! Good on you girl 🙂

  10. Great Shot Laura

  11. what an excellent shot, with both surfers and kite flyers.

  12. Really beautiful photo Laura.

  13. fantastic image Laura!! I really love the monochrome you have done!! And that you caught the flight of the kite in it is perfect.

  14. Love this Laura. The B&W is a great choice.

  15. Absolutely awesome shot Laura!

  16. What a fabulous shot! So rich in lyrical, subtle detail. Your new gravatar shot is also a beauty! 😀
    xo

  17. well balanced composition and again Mono works

  18. You have such a wonderful standard but this is still my favourite. It’s a truly wonderful shot. http://alexraphael.wordpress.com/2014/03/26/gr8at-stunning-photographs-from-fellow-bloggers/

Leave a Reply

