Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

San Francisco Bay Bridge

138 Comments

Yeah, yeah, yeah, I wasn’t going to post until after my move but frankly I just couldn’t resist!  I know some of my friends here will tease me about it, lol.  But hey, it’s a woman’s prerogative to change her mind, eh?  🙂

We were coming back from a performance in SF the other night, and we made a pit stop at Treasure Island so I could take a shot of the eastern portion of the Bay Bridge.   In 1989, the Loma Prieta earthquake damaged a portion of the bridge, and it took a “mere” 25 years to replace it.   They are still tearing the old one down and you can see it off to the right.  It will take about 3 years to tear it down.  Once it’s been removed, I’ll go back and take another shot, but in the meantime I thought it fitting to include the changing of the guard so to speak.

For all you wondering, my move is coming along.  I’m looking forward to being back to “normal” (whatever that is) next week!

Eastern Portion of San Francisco Bay Bridge looking toward Berkeley, taken from Treasure Island.

Eastern Portion of San Francisco Bay Bridge looking toward Berkeley, taken from Treasure Island.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

138 thoughts on “San Francisco Bay Bridge

  1. Wow…this is a beautiful shot!

  2. I for one am very pleased that you took time to post, especially this image. But, could you should have moved about 100 meters to your left so we could see the new bridge without the old one. Oh, you can’t fly! Well I guess we’ll have to wait until 2016 or 2018 or 2024 before you can take another beautiful picture when the old bridge is gone. Enjoy your move – ugh.

    • I’m glad you liked it, but I have to beg to differ with your opinion. It needed the old bridge. There is history in that shot. I’ll go back in a couple years without the old one there. But that’s just me. 🙂 And thanks for the wishes about our move. I’m looking forward to the end. lol

      • I agree on the historical documentation if that is your intent. I see your photo as much more artistic and the structure of the old bridge is imposing and distracting. My eye follows the lights of the cars and as I turn up and to the right the old bridge stops that very nice curve that you’ve captured. That’s just my opinion. The challenge with art is that everyone seems to have an opinion – that’s also what make it nice.

  3. This is a really cool photo! (good luck with your move.)

  4. I’m not going to tease you at all Laura (not here at least) lol

    Actually, I’m happy you’re still carrying your camera with you. Thus is a terrific shot with the trailing lights in great contrast against the LED lighting if the bridge structure. Bravo!

    Teasing will come later 🙂

  5. I’m glad you have no will power. 🙂 Nice shot, thanks for sharing.

  6. So glad you used your prerogative otherwise we might never have seen this gorgeous shot. Happy moving:-)

  7. “it’s a woman’s prerogative to change her mind, eh?”

    These are words I keep in my pocket and refer to often

    I love the photo.
    Now Tony Bennett is in my head:
    I left my heart…. in San…Fran…Cisco…high on a hill..
    Thanks for that!

    Love your work.
    Rock on with the move.
    And come back soon.
    We will all be here.

    –Lance

  8. I love this shot – the contrast is great! And I love learning more about San Francisco. I had only spent an afternoon there on a quick daytrip up from Monterey and would love to go back, so I appreciate all you share.

  9. Yes please let me know if you ever discover what ‘normal’ is… it would be nice to know what I was missing all these years.

  10. How did you get those lines… Cool:) I was working in Moraga today..

  11. What a beautiful picture! x

  12. Wonderful picture – and yes a woman has the right to change her mind and give no reason as to why – it’s a rule. lol

  13. I’m glad for the changed mind 🙂 Great night shot.

  14. Great Picture Laura! at least to me! Boy you are a miracle woman if you can move and get back to NORMAL, by next week, here 6 months after my move and I a still struggling to return to normal! Please if you have a secret share it with me! LOL

  15. Well I’m glad you couldn’t resist posting…….lovely image Laura.

  16. Love your light trails Laura. 🙂

  17. Your exposure is perfect, Laura. I really like that the old, dark ghost of the bridge of the past is included–an eloquent dichotomy.

  18. Fantastic Photo

  19. Wow, just wow about this photo. You definitely have a great skill 🙂

  20. One of the best SF portraits I’ve ever seen. LOVE it! 😀
    xoxo

  21. Wow, what an amazing shot!

  22. Great capture!!! Can’t wait to see that bridge in person one day.

    ML
    xx

  23. I have been over this bridge many times and its such a beauty! And its even better on a clear sunny day and in the evening. Great shot!

  24. A very cool long-exposure photo! Love the white and red lines from the cars.

  25. Great pic Laura! Good luck with your move!

  26. So beautiful!!! A delight for the eyes Laura!!! Just Wow 🙂
    Glad the move is going ok. Have been wondering.

  27. spectacular bridge!! and photo!! W have only the tiny little Johnson Street Bridge in Victoria, you might remember- the one that opens up for ships to go by stopping traffic going downtown for bloody hours!! lol

  28. Heheheheh I have a couple of seconds so I came here. (smile) What a great shot this is, Laura. (I hope I can get to a place my photos look as good as yours). I love the “flow” of this image the way you caught all the lights. Very awesome!!! Clarity is a wow. Crystal clear! GREAT JOB!!! xx Amy

  29. Beautiful shot! I’m loving the lines from the car lights.

  30. WOW!!! This is THE best shot I’ve seen of the new Bay Bridge!!! WOW!!!

  31. Reblogged this on Don Charisma and commented:
    I though you guys might like Laura’s San Francisco bridge, I think it’s one of her best photos, love the light trails – fun to photograph 🙂

  32. How do I miss the Bay, my home

  33. Such a beautiful photo of the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco. I know talent when I see one! xxoo -BMP

  34. Stunning shot with such brilliant colors! I’ve never been on that bridge, but I’d love to see it in person, especially if it looked like that.

  35. such a great shot. i miss SF.

  36. I think is quite possibly the most beautiful photo I’ve seen of the bridge! I look forward to exploring more of your work.

  37. My first drive to San Francisco was over this bridge. It was memorable because I was driving a manual transmission. I drove on neutral coming down the hill and noticed my thermostat heating up. I pulled over right before the bridge and waited for it to cool. It did. Something not forgotten. 🙂

    • oh really! What a memory…I won’t say “fond” memory though lol. Thank you for sharing your experience. I’d be out taking pictures while my engine cooled haha!

  38. stunning…found your blog through two bloggers I follow…fabulous photos!!!

  39. What a beautiful photo!

Leave a Reply

