Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Power Struggle

81 Comments

I’m baaaack!  Did you miss me???  😛   I’m somewhat settled and it feels good to be in our new home. Life is sometimes a challenge but I’m learning that when there isn’t a struggle of power and you have an awesome teammate like I do in my husband, you can conquer anything.

This image was taken the other day only a few blocks away from that famous “back deck” you’ve all seen here many times.  The weather was very dramatic and I thought it amazing to see the utility poles representing man-made power vs. nature’s power surrounding and dwarfing them.  We are just a speck in the grand scheme of things.

powerstruggle-web

 

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

81 thoughts on “Power Struggle

  1. Congratulations – I know what it is like.

  2. At one point in my life I had moved ever year a half.

  3. Welcome back Laura. Quite a striking image here.

  4. Yes! I missed you.
    Great post.

  5. Welcome back and congratulations on your move. I love the title of this image Laura. It represents, to me, the power we can control and the power we can’t. Sometimes, life happens the same way. Right?
    I look forward to seeing more of the power that you control in the form of your photography 🙂 Cheers!

    • I’m glad you see something different in it. I love how people see different things in photos! That’s really cool! Thank you Dan. I’m whipping that camera into shape, lol.

  6. Welcome back Laura. Nice picture and appropriate title 😉

  7. Yes, you were missed and I’m pleased that the move went well. Stunning image.

  8. Absolutely awesome photo, so powerful and enjoy your new home! 🙂

  9. That’s a great photo as well as perspective. I once took a photo such as this and it reminded me, too, of the supreme power of nature and how it can quickly humble us. Congrats on your move!

  10. Great to see you!! Very powerful image. The composition tells so much and with the sun peaking through in the corner, it just adds the right touch. I love your eye!

  11. Lovely shot and great to have you back 🙂

  12. Of course you were missed 🙂 Your gorgeous photo could be the cover page for Winston Churchill’s “The Gathering Storm”.
    Glad to have you back. Best wishes

  13. Certainly you were missed – especially for the Monochrome Madness post ‘:-)

  14. Brilliant image demonstrating the force and strength of nature. My father worked for a power company all his life and would have greatly appreciated this photograph. Awesome! The lighting is just incredible!

  15. Love the colours. I’m glad your move went well.

  16. Love the light just catching the cables. Nice capture Laura.

  17. We certainly are a speck, wish we realised it more. Great image, I love the idea of the power struggle. Just great.

  18. Wonderful light – and colors!

  19. Hi Laura…

    Great blog… I loved the picture and truly enjoyed your way of seeing it as an image which represents, quoting you: “man-made power vs. nature’s power surrounding and dwarfing them”. Very neat !!!.

    Best regrads, Aquileana 🙂

  20. Good the hear from you and I’m glad the move is done. That is an amazing shot – look forward to more. Jenni

  21. Wonderful shot. Glad the move went well.

  22. Very nice light in this photo. Great shot!

  23. Welcome back and beautifully captured (as always)

    Agree – the struggle for power suck barnacles – always lovely to have company that consistently cares about your well being and life experience…

    What a beautiful view from the back deck…. sounds like you are getting settled beautifully into your new surrounds…

  24. welcome back!! Beautiful light!! I love the rainbow one too!!

  25. Nice! Thought provoking. I like it. 🙂

  26. I love cloud photos (eye & soul candy)

Leave a Reply

