Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Somewhere Over the Rainbow

101 Comments

Who doesn’t love that song?  Maybe there are some people that don’t, but I really love it.  I couldn’t stop humming it as I was taking this picture the other evening.  It’s a good thing no one else was around, lol.

It was a blustery, rainy, sunny evening and I took this when I snapped the Power Struggle image I posted recently.  That bench overlooking the little valley where we used to live is just so charming.  It’s funny that I hadn’t taken a photo of it before, but I think everything happens for a reason, so on my last day just before our move, I was provided the opportunity for this shot.

I really believe it was a sign that good things are to come and for a new chapter in my life to begin.  Life is good and not somewhere over the rainbow, but right here and now.

Dreams Do Come True

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

101 thoughts on “Somewhere Over the Rainbow

  1. Very pretty! Only thing missing is a pot of gold on the bench! 🙂

  2. It is a great song and no one has ever sung it better than Judy at age 16

  3. That is really gorgeous Laura and now I have that song in my head.

  4. I love the song and the photo is amazing. 🙂

  5. Stunning. Nice see some rainy weather. I hope it produced some rain.

  6. Beautiful shot, hope there´s gold for you on the horizon!
    Greetings, Ron.

  7. I just speechless to see such a beautiful photo!

  8. Not only do I love the song, and ‘The Wizard of Oz’ is THE best movie of all time, but your photo is ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. Thank you for sharing it. You have quite a talent.

  9. Wait…isn’t that the “Yellow Brick Road” on the far left? Perfection in composition (as usual) 🙂
    Bravo Laura!!!

  10. Gorgeous image! Love the song!

  11. That’s a fine song to start my day… Amazing photograph!

  12. you have been nominated for the versatile blogger award
    http://sedge808.com/2014/04/11/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  13. Wow !!!!! Gorgeous picture Laura

  14. Great shot Laura…..fantastic light. Good to hear that life is treating you well.

  15. What a magic moment. Well captured photo. It really suits the song.

  16. The rainbow looks like a ladder, a ladder up to a very happy place in the clouds. As no one has ever found the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow, chances are we won’t be able to find the base of the ladder either. Great shot 🙂

  17. A really beautiful photo. TDx

  18. Beautiful shot – looks very painterly. Your right in one sense – it is all right here, right now, so make the most of things 🙂

  19. What a gorgeous photo! And yes, I adore that song 🙂

  20. This is gorgeous!
    Like the sky pouring a rainbow from above
    to the earth far below. Perfectly delicious!
    Cheerz, Uncle Tree

  21. This is a stunner Laura! A once in a lifetime shot perhaps?

  22. extra beautiful, Laura!
    oh, and I thought
    I was the only one
    who was following
    and then I was not 🙂

  23. Love it. Looks like a little piece of heaven!

  24. Absolutely breathtaking! And I love me some Wizard of Oz too 🙂

  25. An omen of good things to come to be sure. 🙂

  26. Sorry to add yet another thought to those of the 65 who got here before me, Laura, but this is just too special to be satisfied with a simple “like.” Obviously, several things came together for you at just the right time of transition, and that provides a real reason for a celebration. I wish you all the very best in this new chapter of your life!

    • Awwe! Your comment really touched me. It really is a good time in my life and frankly, it’s about time! I’ve had some struggles over the past few years and seeing this rainbow at that particular time…you’re right…it’s celebratory. Thank you so much for your thoughtful words. :)))

  27. Bahaha it’s funny when I try to sing that song. It goes “somewheeeere over the rainbooow… um.. hmmm dum dee dum”. I only know four words 😀

  28. Very beautiful Laura, the light and colour is amazing.

  29. Wow! – What a magic light!

  30. You have captured a magic moment, Laura. Take a bow. It’s outstanding.

  31. Laura, I have seriously never seen a more spectacular and beautiful rainbow photo. Wow! Well done!
    xoxo—and yes, I’d take that as a sign of great things now *and* yet to come. Cheers!!!
    Kathryn

  32. Reblogged this on From Scratch and commented:
    We love this photo shared by Laura Macky. Happy Friday, everyone. Enjoy today!

  33. Hi Laura, tried looking in the comments to see where this was taken but I couldn’t find anything. Where is this magical place?

    • Ahh…it was in a suburb of San Francisco. Just on top of a hill in my old neighborhood. It really was a magical moment! I have another shot from the same location of the moon at night you can see in my photo gallery. I think maybe the third row down? There are two…both at twilight, one is darker than the other. http://lauramacky.smugmug.com/

      • I found those shots, so beautiful. I liked being able to see more of what was happening in the valley with the lighter shot compared to the darker one. Thank you for your work- it is absolutely stunning! Glad to have opened my WordPress email today and stumble into your blog and pictures.

  34. Stunning image. And so meaningful…

  35. I love the song! I love the photograph! And I love rainbows! Great shot! 🙂

  36. Oh wow! Absolutely stunning!! And I wish all the best things for you in this new chapter! Really…I get such a great feeling from that photo. Blessitude 🙂

  37. Reblogged this on marezactg and commented:
    Beautiful!!!

  38. What an amazing photo, what a great moment to capture.

  39. What a gorgeous view from that bench. Yes, I also love humming “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” and it’s not always Judy Garland’s song I’m thinking of. I also hear the voice of a man singing this song. Thanks for sharing the photos, Laura.

Leave a Reply

