Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

School’s in Session!

75 Comments

There is a really neat old schoolhouse near us that was built in 1889.  The schoolhouse is called the Tassajara School House.  I’ve seen it before but this time I really got a good look around.

There was a very nice man there named Ed, complete with cowboy hat and all.  He takes care of the little school house and I could tell he really loves doing so because he was happy to share a bit of the history and what goes on there.  He explained that school children from around the area come and experience a day at school by dressing in period costumes and attending an old-fashioned class.  They say the original Pledge of Allegiance to the flag of that era and they even play as kids did in those times by walking on stilts.  Amazing!

Ed mentioned that I would be welcomed to attend a class sometime as long as I sit in the back, lol.   Thank goodness I can still get in one of those small desks….and even better that I could get out.  😉   My homework will be to go back and take some pics when class is in session.

Here is the first image I took of the exterior.   This was taken on my iPhone and modified in Snapseed.

Tassajara School House

 

 

 

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

75 thoughts on “School’s in Session!

  1. How neat! Looking forward to photos on stilts — my friends and I shared one pair of stilts when we were in our early school years. 🙂

  2. Nicely done! I don’t know the Snapseed programme. I dumped mt IPhone a few years ago, went to Samsung, and now use a Sony Experia.

  3. That’s a great story! Can’t wait to see some more pictures to bring it to life!

  4. Nice effect with the depth, really draws you in.

  5. I’m looking forward to the follow-up. It’s a charming schoolhouse.

  6. I’ve seen that schoolhouse driving over in your part of the world!

  7. Very lovely, blue trash cans and all. A touch of modernity in a world of by-gone days.

  8. My Mom was my First Grade Teacher (in Fremont California)
    Yes. It was awkward.
    When we finally came home to Texas, I attended a school such as this one (Winnsboro, TX, circa 1968)
    I loved it.
    Everyday, we had to recite “The Lord’s Prayer”

    “Howard be thy name.”
    I, to this day, think the Lord is named ‘Howard’.

    Guess that is why I got somewhat screwed up.

    Great post.

    Love the photo.
    –Howard

  9. Nice use of the blur to zero in on the school and to separate it from the surroundings.

  10. Beautiful piece of history.

  11. I love the effect of the shadow of the trees in the foreground.

  12. What a brilliantly done photograph. How neat would it be to attend a class there, to see the kids and outfits from that time period. Reminds me of favorite show from my childhood – Little House on the Prairie.

  13. Great shot Laura and nice to get a little history too. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  14. I really like this image….the snapseed affect works well 😊

  15. Even with the bright colours this image makes me imagine of some sort scene of a horror movie. Really nice edit in snapseed, i tend to flip between it and Pixlr Express. Both have advantages and limitations.

  16. Reblogged this on Share your WordPress Blog and commented:
    This reblog is courtesy of the Mod Squad. Reblogs are done for members of the Share your WordPress blog group found at https://www.facebook.com/pages/Share-your-WordPress-Blog-FB-Group/1474043532813456

  17. Snapseed? OK, I’m downloading it to my phone now. 🙂 Love the depth in the image and the soft out of focus vignette of the image. Just a happy inviting image.

  18. Great post, Laura. I love hearing the back stories of these interesting places that you find. Looking forward to the report and images from your next visit there.

  19. Terrific vignetting Laura. Cool subject matter as well.

  20. love old schoolhouses. Ring the bell!!

  21. How delightful ! I wish I could go with you. So much of my life has revolved around school and teaching, I would love to go back in time to “remember” the old days.

  22. Gorgeous Picture Laura 🙂 Reminds me off Anne of Green Gables.. their little school on Prince Edward Island!

  23. Love this processing method. I’ve shot many an old church or building but the image themselves NEED something. This is very striking and brings the building itself into focus…as it should be. Lovely!

  24. Hi Laura’
    That is an outstanding photograph 🙂

  25. Now that sounds like fun.

  26. Reblogged this on MULIEBRAL VIEWPOINT: and commented:
    I wanted to reblog this to Muliebral Studies, where I post about family matters, but the reblog will not allow me to do that for some reason.

  27. Reblogged this on Muliebral Studies and commented:
    Family, children, education and of course the old time buildings…

  28. I love the blurring of this shot! Really leads the user in. Very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

