Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Walk Along the Summit

64 Comments

So the other day I posted an image from the Summit of Mt. Diablo and I received a few comments of surprise (not surprisingly, lol).  It wasn’t the atypical summit photo one might expect and I did build up some expectation of a beautiful vista.  The day we were out was a bit hazy, not good for those stunning, clear views of the sierras, but I did manage to take a few shots that might be more in keeping what people would expect from being on top of a mountain.

By the way, I do want to thank you for the positive comments I got on that previous summit photo.  The response was really great.  I enjoyed doing something different.  🙂

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

64 thoughts on “Walk Along the Summit

  1. These are beautiful Laura

  2. please visit my new blog

    ajaytaobotanicalphotography@wordpress.com

    Thanks

  3. Beautiful pictures Laura, you must have had a great time going there to take them!

  4. Breathtaking

  5. The second pic is awesome. I feel like going there right now. Like the longing that cannot be fulfilled. 🙂

  6. Reminds me of my visit there. Beautiful vistas, Laura!

  7. the fruit of your hike up are beautiful!
    can almost see my contra costa relatives 🙂

  8. I like the second pic the most, the colour fading into a dark slightly more monotone feel is like an analogy of the modern world creeping and destroying the beauty of nature. I loved the surpise yesterday btw.

    • I’m glad you liked the surprise. I don’t want to be too predictable. That wouldn’t match my personality lol. I like to throw in a zinger now and then. And thank you for the insight on the second image. 🙂

  9. Love the different shades of green in the second shot…..from Emerald/Jade to a sort of dirty khaki green

  10. Those pictures just amaze me. What a wonderful world!
    Leslie

  11. Nice images, Laura. Especially the second one. A sunrise or sunset shot would be cool, but looks like the hike up (or down) in the dark might be a little nasty.

  12. I like your choice of the square format for these, and how inviting that glimpse of ridge path in the left image is!

  13. Wisdom is speaking in Proverbs 8:25-26:
    When there were no depths, I was brought forth;
    when there were no fountains abounding with water.
    Before the mountains were settled,
    before the hills was I brought forth:
    While as yet he had not made the earth, nor the fields,
    nor the highest part of the dust of the world

  14. There is something special about the view from a mountain top 🙂

  15. Thank for this, Laura. I apologize for griping about your previous post. It was the timing, just having read a section of a book that explains how Diablo was formed and named. I had also hoped to see the view since it’s probably been close to 50 years since I was up there…. However, I did the search and found some lovely images of the view in addition to those you posted here. Thank you much!!! 😮

  16. Love the colour changes in the second photo Laura …
    A magnificent view of the folded landscape .

  17. Wow Laura… these are brilliant.. and just what I expected… from the top of the mountain…

  18. Laura!! These are stunning! They took my breath away, wishing I was there. Great shots!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

  19. WOW, amazing landscapes. I love them.

  20. and the hills echoed!! Beautiful landscapes Laura!

  21. That green lushness on the right actually reminds me a lot of our visit in Panama a few years ago. We stayed in a couple of places on or near the flanks of Volcán Barú, and there were so many gorgeous terraced farms there…. Thanks for the memory! And for simply beautiful photos. 😀
    xo

  22. Now that’s what I am talking about.
    Where is this place? Laura.

Leave a Reply

