Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

A Closer Look

38 Comments

At the top of Mt. Diablo they have those pay-per-view telescopes so you can view things a bit closer.  It was a bit hazy that day, so I didn’t try it out.

I think the best time to go is in the winter when the skies are clear and you can see the Sierras.  My next mission regarding this mountain is to go up at sunrise to catch the light over the valley and then to catch the sunset.  Unfortunately you can only get up so far since they don’t open the gate until sunrise but I scouted a few places I could go in front of the gate.  The only other way is to camp there….and that’s not happening anytime soon!  lol

Mt. Diablo Telescope

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

38 thoughts on “A Closer Look

  1. In all my years I’ve never been to the top of Mount Diablo…

  2. my north face “windy pass” tent
    might be adequate
    for an overnighter on diablo 🙂

  3. Not much of a camper are you Laura? Well I hope you figure something out. I’d love to see a sunrise photo from here now that you gotten us familiar with the place.

  4. Good luck with getting as close as you can–and show us what you can see!

  5. Magic makes me want to go there! 🙂

  6. I hear you on the camping thing. I’m a glamper girl. 🙂

  7. love using those telescopes at viewing points, although not always easy to see through. Shame they wont allow you to the top of the mount all day as I’m sure it could also be good for astrophotography.

    • They will if you camp. I’m just not a camper! The astrophotographers are there frequently especially during that Halle Bop or however you spell it. I went up there for that. For events like that, they will open. I looked through one of those double barrel telescopes and WOW! It’s amazing!

  8. I agree…no camping…unless it is in a Hilton 🙂 I didn’t know they still had the pay-per-view telescopes. Another dying industry.

  9. Good luck with you mission. Should not be as difficult as a MI movie.

  10. I’m still listening to that audiobook where the author talks about spending the night up on Diablo. I took it out from the library because I was interested in the 1905 earthquake. He goes waaaaaay back in history and makes the geology that’s involved very interesting. He spends a good bit of time talking about Diablo and how it was named and how it got to be there. If you’re at all interested, it’s A Crack in the Edge of the World by Simon Winchester. It has me wishing I’d spent more time there when I lived in the Bay Area and had friends in Lafayette.

  11. I want to visit.

  12. Wonderful comp Laura, the detail of the telescope against the slightly misty background horizon.

  13. Haven’t seen many ever use a viewer, except on the old Mission Impossible TV episodes.

    One benefit of not camping is worrying about a wild one sharing your ice cooler. 🙂

  14. I love the simplicity of this shot

Leave a Reply

