Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Light Seeker – Monochrome Madness

64 Comments

It’s Monochrome Madness time again!

Once again I found myself at Preservation Park in Oakland, California.  This tiny park packs a picturesque punch with colorful foliage and Victorian architecture.  The park is actually a re-creation of a Victorian neighborhood where they hold events and meetings.   Last time I was here I focused on the beautiful flowers and I wanted to get back to try my hand at the architecture.  (Whew, all that hammering has made me tired, lol.)

I love looking for contrast now and am starting to see it more which is encouraging.  When I first started photography, all I could think of was color.  Don’t get me wrong, I still adore color and even in color photographs contrast is important.  What I’ve noticed, though, is that looking for B&W images before I take the picture rather than converting a previous image I didn’t initially intend for B&W is a different skill set.  At least that’s what it seems to me.   I’m hoping the intent shows in my images whether it be B&W or color.  I will say, this challenge has been invaluable in teaching me to look for light which is paramount to all photographs.

The entire challenge can be found here on Leanne Cole’s Site “Monochrome Madness”  so please check it out.  There are so many good photographers there!

Preservation Park, Oakland

Preservation Park, Oakland

 

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

64 thoughts on “Light Seeker – Monochrome Madness

  1. WOW!
    This is a ridiculously good photograph!
    As always…

  2. Outstanding photo… you sure know what you’re doing…

  3. This works very well.
    Me like.

  4. Love it Laura. I like the angle and the grainy sweep of the sky too. The windows are wonderful.

  5. I like this photograph and besides the great contrast I like it how the leaves are reflected in the windows, that really captured my eyes 🙂

  6. Great photo! I’m looking forward to see Leanne’s post tomorrow, it has become one of the weekly highlights.

  7. Nicely done, Laura. I agree, this weekly challenge has been a really great learning exercise for seeing light. I’m also having an easier time seeing when one scene will work better than another. Though you can easily flip any image into black and white, moat simply seem to lose all effectiveness when done like that. It has really helped me rerecognize the difference between a good scene and a dull one.

  8. Really good angle in capturing the subject and the composition is awesome! Cheers 🙂

  9. Laura, very nicely composed and captured. I too prefer b&w.

  10. Interesting to hear your shooting process – I don’t know if because i began in B&W (film) that I already see images in monochrome – then later the color happens. But I agree, without contrasting tones you have a rather flat and lifeless image.

  11. I love the “moody” feel you’ve captured with this!

  12. Pingback: Wonder | The Shady Tree

  13. If you understand color and how they complement each other, you will see better in BW. Great image. Like the angles and lines

  14. Spectacular! I love the way you tilted the image and the light is awesome in this. Great job you’ve done here, Laura! Keep up the work! Right now I am SO immersed in color, that black and white will be sometime down the road. I am having just way too much fun. Tee hee. With balls, Amy

  15. Laura, this photo is simply spectacular. From the POV to the composition to the beautiful contrast in light. You are truly capturing the spirit of monochrome madness! And I love what you’ve written about how challenge has changed your perspective in looking for contrast. I definitely need to get out there and do more of that to train my eye instead of looking back through my photos to find ones that might convert well. Well done.

    • Thank you so much. I’m learning more and more each time I do this. And even flops are part of the learning process. It’s amazing how I look back on photos I took just a few months ago and say EEWEEE…what was I thinking!? And that’s just in general, not really specific to this lol. Thank you again for your comments. They are much appreciated. 🙂

  16. Great shot Laura. Looking forward to this week’s gallery. I’m once again becoming more excited with black and white photography having first started years ago developing my own B&W 35mm film. My recent Blog Poll seems to support this. Best wishes…Andrew 🙂

  17. Laura, if that’s the style of architecture you enjoy you should be visiting the UK 🙂 It’s interesting what you say, as I came at photography from the opposite direction completely! I started out with my dad’s old SLR, a 1970’s Praktica using Ilford B&W film, developing it myself. Moving to colour was a challenge mainly as I looked for very high contrasting subject matter all the time and had to learn about softer tones and more balanced light. They are different skills and unlike many believe, not EVERYTHING looks good in B&W!

  18. Pingback: Monochrome Madness Week 13 | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

  19. right on 🙂 ! ……

  20. Another lovely shot my dear.

  21. I know what you mean about B+W being different, it’s what I shot for years and I still struggle with color at times. Great image, Laura.

  22. Great photo, Laura. I totally agree with what you say, you have to sort of think in B&W, looking for patterns, lines, symmetry and the layer underneath, often hidden by color.

  23. Outstanding image Laura 🙂

Leave a Reply

