Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

The Beauty of Lake Merritt

96 Comments

So after yesterday’s black and white, I now am blasting you with some color!

I’ve been out taking historical pictures of Oakland lately for another project I’m working on, but once in awhile I just have to stop and smell the flowers along the way.  You know how I enjoy doing that, right??

This image of Lake Merritt hopes to once again show that Oakland, California is a beautiful place!  Yes, it has it’s crime issues in some areas, but Oakland is actually a very large city as far at 78 square miles.  There are many beautiful places here and such great photo opportunities!

Lake Merritt, Oakland, California

Lake Merritt, Oakland, California

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

96 thoughts on “The Beauty of Lake Merritt

  1. Blast of color for sure! Great shot Laura.

  2. This is a really good photo Laura 🙂

  3. Lovely view! How refreshing to see this rather than a “newsworthy” crime scene!

  4. Blast of color is right! This has the look of an old-time litho postcard – I do like it. Yes, Oakland is a great city – was there in 2004 down around the docks at Merchants Bar – if it is still there – lots of local color 🙂

    • I’m not sure about Merchants Bar and if it is there, I’d be afraid to go lol. I haven’t got around to looking at my stream yet because we have landscapers here removing trees. Thank you so much!

  5. A beautiful image of Lake Merritt! Your “stop and smell the flowers” break was definitely worthwhile!

  6. Stunning shot Laura! Love the moody sky and the crispness of the buildings that’s then offset by the lake and planting in the foreground 🙂

  7. I love the whole picture, but the dramatic sky adds so much to the entire picture. The color of the flowers in the foreground is great as it frames the picture as well as breaks up the blues. I think it is a great contrast!

  8. A photo that clearly shows that humans and nature can coincide with one another and still maintain an essence of beauty. Although I do prefer nature in it’s entirety, I rarely photograph man made structures, I do enjoy viewing them from time to time. And sometimes it’s simply just difficult to try and improve on your photography when you limit yourself to just one type of photography when you don’t have a lot of diversity in your area. I have found lately that I do enjoy taking photos of man made structures but tend to stick with either older subjects or an architecture that is unique may be pleasing to the eye.

    Great shot! 🙂

  9. This is really beautiful… with such sights one quickly forgets the crime stories…

  10. Fantastic Laura .. Loving the colour blast 🙂

  11. Nicely balanced with great color. Cool beans on this one, Laura.

  12. It is a gorgeous blast of colour Laura, lovely foreground, I never think of doing that sort of thing.

  13. As a lifelong Chiefs fan I can’t like Oakland but I really like your photo. Resplendent.

  14. That looks like one of those postcards from the late 60’s/early 70’s that enhanced the colour. I love it!!

  15. Very pretty!

  16. how do you get both things in focus at same time.
    you are amazing.

  17. Stunning photo! Do you sell prints of your photos?

  18. Wow I drive around this lake and you turned it beautiful..

  19. Gorgeous blast of color Laura 😀

  20. Blasting us with colour with this shot, just about right. You do colour and BW so beautifully. With this HDR-like shot, I like how you make each colour stand out, and all of them standing in harmony together as opposed to in competition. Well done 🙂

  21. I have some fond memories of Oakland. My step-father worked there when we lived in Fremont.
    Brilliant work Laura. Love the colors!

  22. Lake Merritt sure looks like a beautiful place, which you have captured beautifully in this image. Absolutely delightful colours.

  23. Great interest throughout the whole image Laura. I’m totally loving the purple in those… lilacs? I’m so bad with identifying flowers.

  24. Laura, that’s a gorgeous photo. You really captured the beauty of the place. ~Terri

  25. Beautiful shot- the colours are so surreal!

  26. simply magnifique… I was there a few years ago, after 4 days in wonderful Frisco that I often miss… my very best, tons of inspiration and friendly thoughts, Mélanie – Toulouse, France, “old Europe”… 🙂

Leave a Reply

