Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Happy Days and Happy 4th of July!

55 Comments

Continuing on the tour at The Blackhawk Museum, in addition to the main event there, which are the classic cars, there was a cool mini-museum of jukeboxes.  Here they showed what might be a corner of a diner in the 1950’s; and although I was just a baby in the 50’s, it reminded me of the TV show “Happy Days” with Ron Howard.  I loved that show!  I think almost every kid in America used to watch that show “back in the day”.

In this image I used many techniques all in photoshop to achieve this look.  The main one I played with was tilt-shift and also double exposure.  The wall above the booths looked so plain, so it came to me that I could create a double exposure to fill the gap and make the image more interesting.

Replication of 1950's Diner

Replication of 1950’s Diner

 

 

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

55 thoughts on “Happy Days and Happy 4th of July!

  1. Love it! I wish there were more 50’s diners around. I think they’re really awesome.

  2. Order me a cherry coke and then lets hop in the car and go to the drive-in, lol.
    Nicely done Laura.

  3. This is fabulous Laura! I love it! And, I loved “Happy Days”! Such wonderful memories. Your edits are great!

  4. Every Tuesday at 7pm….Happy Days!!

  5. Happy Days is one of my favorite TV shows too, just as American Graffiti is one of my all time favorite movies. Truly were the good old days. It never ceases to amaze me that so many young people think someone made it all up when the truth is, that’s really what our childhoods were like. Safe, innocent, fun and loaded with Christian Dad’s loving, watchful protection.

    • I remember the early 70’s more and even those times seemed so carefree. I was able to ride my bike for miles without worry and play around the corner with the other kids. I wish I had been a young person in the 50’s, but I was merely a baby. It’s fun to remember nostalgia.

      • You are my children’s age, and yes, I think many of us baby boomers tried to reproduce our idyllic childhood for our kids. Unfortunately, unlike the 1950s, we had an uphill battle fighting the societal chaos begun by the radical feminists in the early 1970s. Luckily, we spent most of our children’s young years in the mid-west, rather than back home in NY, so that made the process easier. Happy 4th.

  6. Your creativity and PS talent is growing everyday. Thsi is really great Laura. Perfectly appropriate for the 4th of July. Hope you have a good one my friend!

  7. Wonderful work, Laura!!

  8. Thanks Laura ..given the name of my blog this one was bound to appeal ! regards thom

  9. Tell me when I retire, I get to go to fun places like this!

  10. Yes, I see and it does work – at first I thought this was behind glass and you got a bit of a reflection when taking it. The colors are nice and rich but not neon colored – which is maybe more typical of what one might expect. Nicely rendered.

  11. Very cool. This would be a good candidate for the AfterBefore Friday Forum managed by Stacy Fischer of Visual Venturing. Participants are able to exchange techniques used in post-processing.

    • That’s a mouthful ! Maybe she’ll invite me 🙂

    • What’s really lame here Robin is that I follow that blog! I didn’t know the name of it but I know of Stacy and chat here mostly in my blog. I was unaware she did an AfterBeforeFriday. I think I don’t participate in other events and things only because then I’m strapped to my computer even more but maybe I should check it out once in awhile. i do like before and afters 🙂 Thank yo for the heads up!

  12. Ahhh, jukeboxes! Haven’t heard or seen one of those in a long, long while. I didn’t really like it that you had to put some coins in to hear a song…never had a chance to play with one of them, though. Jukeboxes aren’t common in Australia, never have been. Very creative of you to spruce up the wall, it looks seamless. What stuck out at me was that thick book on the table 🙂

    • Thank you so much Mabel. I remember the days of jukeboxes although mine were a bit later. I remember when they were records and then they went to CD’s. Now they’re probably mp3’s!

  13. the effect is fantastic. So cool but with a slight dream like look. Nice shot Laura!!

  14. GL = giant “like” for your post… we did watch “Happy Days”, too… 🙂 P.S. my humble bonus, best wishes and respectful regards, Mélanie
    http://myvirtualplayground.wordpress.com/2014/07/04/4th-of-july-happy-independence-day-america/

  15. Well as soon as I saw this I thought AYYYYYYYY (don’t know how you would spell what the Fonz used to say, thought any minute Ritchie and Fonz would be sitting in the booth ordering milk shakes, and listening to At The Hop!

Leave a Reply

