Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Falling Buds

104 Comments

Okay, so I’m hooked on this new Macro lens!  Sheesh!  Could it get any sharper?  I’ve been out in our new landscaped area photographing new flowers.  This lens is just so FUN.  I’m looking forward to getting closer and closer into the depths of an opened bloom.  There are other subjects, I know, but how can someone who loves color like I do, resist flowers?

Falling Buds

Falling Buds

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

104 thoughts on “Falling Buds

  1. like looking in
    its inner mirror 🙂

  2. Nice pic! How was Madame Butterfly… Ina Bella Dia…?

    • Thanks Juan! OMG, it was amazing! Seriously good. We loved it! Just got our season tix for the ballet the other day…the seat assignments anyway. Looking forward to another wonderful year of the arts! Thanks for asking 🙂

  3. Your trichomes are looking good Laura. 🙂

  4. Like the sharpness which shows clearly the hairs on the buds

  5. Wow! That is stunning…a new macro lens, you lucky girl! I am in love.

  6. Great shot Laura, brilliant composition. Macro is fun isn’t it, it makes you look at things in a totally different way, like a child discovering things for the first time.

    • Thank you Mark. I am loving it so much! I do feel like a child with wonder looking at everything so differently and with a freshness. And I don’t even have to drive far! 😉

  7. what a gorgeous picture. love the contrast and the fuzzy hairs. 🙂

  8. Great and the bit of contrasting color makes it too! Glad your having fun with the lens – what is the focal length on this one? Well, nothing beats quality glass in a dedicated lens.

  9. Very pleased to hear you like it! Enjoy!

  10. Beautiful picture. Thanks for sharing!

  11. I love Madame Butterfly and I love your beautiful photo which has a touch of Japanese art to it!!

  12. Love the detail in this, Laura!

  13. Wow, so beautiful Laura 🙂

  14. Superb – fantastic photo!

  15. Thank you for your floral INsight.

  16. Gorgeous subject with just a tease of color which made you look at the whole picture and not be distracted by the vividness of the bloom. Brilliant portrait of of a new blooms birth. Is it a geranium? Can’t wait to see more 🙂

  17. Wonderful shot! Love the colors and the details. Really pretty work Laura. 🙂

  18. Happy you are enjoying the lens Laura! I am enjoying the photo. 🙂

    I got up at 4 am this morning to go to a small set of falls I had found a few weeks ago. Ended up stepping in the water about 15 minutes into the shoot but that didn’t stop me from getting some good shots. Not only did I use my wide angle lens to take photos but I used that macro lens as well. On the way home I ended up stopping at another set of falls to see how it was and ended up shooting some macro shots of flowers and insects while I was there. I was more excited about the macro shots than the shots I got at the falls. I think that the 105mm macro is a better lens than the 85mm macro from Nikon. I really can’t wait to get my extension tubes to see how much more macro I can get with the 105mm now. Won’t be for a couple more months though.

    • Thanks for your comments Justin. I’m glad you enjoyed the shot. I’m also happy to hear a “day in the life of Justin”, lol. It’s so cool that you can meander around, appreciate the beauty and then capture it with your camera. That is my most fun thing to do…just drive and “see things”. 🙂

      • Well, I was on a time constraint. Due to commitments with the family I actually didn’t have much time. The wife and kids are sick so my only option to get the shots I want was to get up super early (only 5 hours of sleep) and be home in time for breakfast. The other set of falls was on the way home and I had about another half hour to spare so I thought why not. After I left the first set of falls I went to a nearby park where there are caves to check it out quick. Only spent about 10 minutes there but found the caves and have to say it is kind of creepy looking into a small cave where you can’t see very far inside. I had a small led flashlight with me that I keep in my camera bag and was shining it in there. I really wanted to explore but can’t help but think about what might be in there that I don’t want to find. I don’t think I could get myself to explore those caves without someone else with me. lol. That’s mostly due to too many scary movies though. Anyways, the entire adventure was about 3 hours. But now I’ve got another 150 shots or so to go through. I do really want to go back to that first set of falls though as there are a lot of things to photograph in that area.

        • Sounds heavenly! I have to be careful not to let the photography thing take over my marriage. My hubby gets kinda tired of me droning on and on about it. Good for you for getting up early and not imposing too much on family time.

          • I know what you mean. My wife gets tired of me being on the computer editing photos at times and doesn’t always enjoy it when I’m gone a full day getting photos while she’s at home with the kids. Although I’d like to take off every weekend to just go exploring and photographing, I always think about her and help out regardless of what I really want to do. I try to limit it to just once a month or every other month to go do something like that as I know when the kids get a little older then we can all start to enjoy going out together. It’s tough wanting to do all these things but having to make choices with others interests in mind. I sometimes think about how it would be if it was just me and I could go off and do whatever I wanted whenever.

          • It’s really addictive and I don’t even work! Both of us are retired and it still bugs my husband that I’m always glued to the computer or even my phone or ipad checking comments….like right now LOL! But it’s better than me having no hobby and depending on him for entertainment. 🙂

          • For things I’m really into, such as photography, I am very impatient. I’ve had to make myself become more patient with posting new photos and not needing to check for comments every 5 minutes. I’ve been doing pretty good at it but at times it’s just so hard. It is nice to have a hobby that doesn’t get old though as there’s always new things to photograph and learning new photography and processing techniques.

          • I never check comments frequently LMAO! Noooo, not me! 😉

  19. Absolutely beautiful. Thank you for sharing. -Max-

  20. I love your macro photos too! Do you know Tom Whelan? check his blog for great macros of the inside of flowers. I am happy you are happy and creating such beautiful images.

  21. Great shot, really sharp and the punch in the face colours really draw you in. I hope you enjoy the lens.

  22. Ahhhhhh, now the understanding comes, as you now know my fascination with flora. Are you learning YOU move and not your camera? Tee hee ….. I’m glad you are having fun, Laura. And your photo is outstanding. (((HUGS))) Amy

  23. Ah, so gorgeous!
    This is addictive you know 😉

  24. We are kindred spirits with colour, Laura! Nice title.

  25. I have a macro lens but I hardly use it. I know I should but I find it difficult to get the type of shots that I want.

  26. What an awesome awesome capture – no wonder you’re hooked!! Look at that detail! #Stunning

  27. Ouch, the picture is so sharp, I think i just cut my finger looking at it XD

Leave a Reply

