Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Beads of Nature

55 Comments

Walking through a garden (or nursery in this case) is such fun.  I felt like a kid in a candy store, my head twirling around deciding what to take a photo of!

I have no idea what this plant is but it sort of reminds me of strings of beads that hung in doorways in the 60’s and early 70’s, and almost always there was incense burning.  Hmm….Patchouli was one I distinctly remember.

What do you see in this photo?

Beads of Nature

Beads of Nature

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

55 thoughts on “Beads of Nature

  1. oh your new macro is brilliant!! ( as are you!)

  2. Onions?!! Great capture!

  3. Great job, Laura. Way cool.

  4. You’ve really been captured by your macro lens. Wonderful image.

  5. Love this. Walking through a garden or nursery if an inexpensive and timesaving way to temporarily get away for the world.

  6. Such a great eye, Laura….very creative

  7. There was incense burning?
    Nice colors, looks good Laura.

  8. Very nice macro. I just love the colors. I don’t know that plant either.

  9. Khipu with hidden message.

  10. I remember the days of the hanging beads well… and the stuff that was burning back then. lol 😀

  11. They look like some type of fig to me. Love this photo because it demands we look at it and ponder.

  12. Altogether at once – beads, complimentary colours and patterns!
    Great shot. Very creative and love that you’re enjoying this lens so much 🙂

    • I’m happy you like it Robyn. It’ll take me awhile to get to your level with this lens but maybe some day! In the meantime I’m having such fun! What a lens!

      • Oh you’re very generous! Thank you. Loving what you’re doing Laura 🙂
        Which macro did you decide on? Don’t know if you said… Do you mind me asking? 🙂

        • Sometimes but right now ‘m just speaking the truth hehe. I got the Nikon 105mm. I love it! Someone else suggested the older lens without the AFS but I really need VR, so I went with this newer one. I love it! What do you have?

          • He he 🙂 Ah what a beautiful lens Laura. Im like you and am better with the VR these days as well. Having said that I use hubby’s older 35-135mm. Also a beautiful lens 🙂 My 70-300mm also has a macro setting which Ive been enjoying lately. Fell way out of love with it for a while until I got my 7100 😀
            Keep taking those gorgeous photos and enjoying yourself! Thanks for sharing info 🙂

          • Aw thank you Robyn. hehe back! I’m thinking about what to post for tomorrow. It’s a macro for sure though. 😀

  13. Hi Laura, great image, as Robyn G said above, patterns, complimentary colours. Great depth of field as well. Nurseries and Gardens are wonderful places to practise with the macro lens.

    • Thanks so much. I never had even thought of a nursery until recently because we had a landscaping job going on here at the house. I’m going back for sure. 🙂

  14. They remind me of those popper necklaces ! Lovely pictures Laura .
    mmm Patchouli …. 😉

  15. As some of the commenters said above, my first thought was onions. Did you reach out and touch them? If I was there, I would’ve…I’m a very curious person.

    • I did touch them but on a plant next to this one. They were very light, lol. I’m glad you saw the onions too. I hadn’t seen that until the first time someone commented about it. Thanks Mabel. 🙂

  16. Maybe tiny grapes that would make a lovely sweet wine.

  17. I see purple spider eggs.
    (But ya know Laura, I’m just weird that way.)
    😉
    Great photo
    Love it!

  18. Interesting plant and nice photo Laura! It makes me think of a plant that lures you in to eat it’s fruit and then afterwards find out it’s poisonous. Happy you are still enjoying the lens. 🙂

  19. Wonderful capture! 🙂

  20. So Cool, wonderful job Laura! 🙂

Leave a Reply

