Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

SQUARES – Monochrome Madness

52 Comments

For a few months I’ve wanted to take a photo at this construction site because of the geometric patterns or should I say “squares”…or should I say almost squares lol.  Finally, on my way to the gym Sunday morning, I stopped to take this photo.

Please check out Leanne Cole’s blog later for the entire gallery.

SQUARES

SQUARES

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

52 thoughts on “SQUARES – Monochrome Madness

  1. This is amazing!! i have been meaning to take photos of a construction site as well.. hopefully will get there soon.. meanwhile working on some food photography.. check it out on my blog..

  2. The sun, shadow, and doorway nicely frame your squares. Good composition.

  3. Well I think the photo is brilliant, but that you go to gym with your camera is even better…. can we expect a few photos from there ?? … lol

  4. I love the various intersecting lines you can see at construction sites. Nice!

  5. Big like on this one. Very me too.

  6. Pingback: Split Open | The Shady Tree

  7. Great eye! I love geometrical imagery…your black and whites rock!

    • Thank you Sharon. I loved seeing all those patterns. Victor Rakmil said it was Mondarian in Monochrome, so I changed the title on my photo website because that’s just too good to pass over.

  8. Superb and beautifully captured

  9. Great patterns and framing (no pun intended)

  10. Perfect light for this shot – glad you took this

  11. I love light and dark and nice, clean angles. You captured it all; good work!

  12. Nice job! I like it. First thing that came to mind was “It’s hip to be square!”

  13. Pingback: MM34 – Monochrome Madness 34 | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

  14. I like how the shadows wrench the photo in a new direction, diagonal to the rest 🙂

  15. I love your black and white work Laura! By the way, have you had any challenges uploading posts since WordPress started this new format today? Cheers, Rob

    • Thank you so much Rob :). I havent done any updating today. I had that post scheduled to post at 2 am this morning and havent touched it since except to comment on others blogs. Im afraid to ask now. I notice the IOS app no longer auto correxts. 😦

  16. Wonderful lines and shadows.

  17. Love it when a plan come together 😉
    Such a great shot Laura with all it’s rectangles and light and shade.
    Victor is right.. Mondrian indeed!!

  18. It’s a delightful composition with beautiful light. And I love you that have processed the image as a black and white. Simply beautiful.

  19. I have noticed that you take your camera most everywhere you can. This is something that I can’t seem to do. I shoot a Pentax K10D with 5 other Lens’s. I also have a Nikon P600 that I just purchased. Shooting in B&W is something that I have mixed emotions about. B&W I do like, but I think that it has it’s place. I do use it at times, but I’m pretty much a color person. With B&W you loose all the color that is in the photo, to make it more dramatic. In my blog, I will post some B&W images that I’ve taken at a later date.

    • Well, my camera is usually in the trunk of my car so it’s with me by default if I’m in our car. lol I’m normally a color person as well. This is a monochrome challenge that takes place once a week. I think taking B&W once in awhile helps to see things in a different way which can only help me in the long run. Thanks for stopping by!

  20. a construction site into a work of art!! I love the linear composition, the perspective and the light coming through the doorway- everything!! Great work Laura and yes, something different!!

    • Thank you so much! It’s fun to “see” new things and try to get it across in an image. The MMC forces me to do that so it’s kinda fun each week to come up with something new.

  21. As a long-time construction worker and amateur photographer, I can really appreciate your post here, and you did a great job with it. Thanks for the view.

Leave a Reply

