Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Hanging on Red

65 Comments

As a continuation of my one expedition out to our local nursery….I’m continually amazed at the quality of the images I’m getting from my macro lens.  I’m starting to notice little things like my focus on the exact point I want to focus on is not as easy as it seems especially hand-held.  Unfortunately I’m not to the point where I can carry a tripod…I’m still struggling carrying the camera as my knee is still quite swollen, but eventually I’ll get there!

Hanging on Red

Hanging on Red

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

65 thoughts on “Hanging on Red

  1. Beautiful! A small suggestion though, you should probably make your watermark a little smaller and less conspicuous. It takes away from the photograph.

  2. Stupendous shot, Laura!!! Just wow! Love, Amy

  3. Lovely shot, lovely light Laura

  4. This is beautiful, Laura! I love the red and the detail on the petals.

  5. Oh Laura! This is absolutely stunning! I love the lighting, and the petal detail is exquisite.

  6. Glad you are still enjoying the macro lens! Right now I’m in a wide angle mood so my macro lens has taken the bench. But I know I’ll be back to the macro mood at some point.
    I know what you mean about trying to get the focus point just right hand-held. For the most critical shots I find that a tripod is a must unless you want to spray and pray and hope to god you get something decent.
    I’ve got on order Nikon’s new 20mm f/1.8 wide angle lens and can’t wait until that comes in. It has a close focusing distance of 7.9 inches which is only just a couple inches from the front of the lens. I’ve been trying my 16-35mm out at 20mm just to make sure I’m making the right choice and I’ve been consistently happy with that focus range so I think it’ll be a great investment. It’ll most definitely help out with my close-up wide angle bokeh photography.
    Can’t wait to see what you’ll be able to come up with in the spring time when you’ll be able to get out more and new life starts to pop up everywhere.
    BTW, nice shot! 🙂

    • I have the 35mm 1.8 and it’s nice but not for wide angle. I love my 10-24mm. It’s tack sharp but it’s more for large items in small spaces. It’s funny how we get into the grove for a particular type of shot. I’m in the macro mood lately because I can’t walk a whole lot and it makes things easier. I’m sure when I’m back up and running I’ll be wanting to get back into some landscapes. Thanks for your comments!

  7. Great shot Laura and personally I’d leave the watermark the size it is. If it is very small and tucked away it may easily be cropped out. Be lazy 😒. Really like the image – my only criticism is tat the flower does seem to be somewhat hemmed in by the corner of the photograph. May be there was something unsightly if you included a bit more space, but I would have left a little more “breathing space” to the right and below if it was available. Anyway, not wanting to detract from the image too much as it is glorious……Enjoy the weekend, MM 🍀

    • Thanks regarding the WM. I was thinking that too…if it was smaller and lighter, it would be easy to remove. And I do agree about the breathing space. i think I got a bit carried away there. The original had a tad more space although I barely did anything to the photo. Thank you for that comment because sometimes I need to hold back on editing and this was one of those times I didn’t. 🙂

  8. LM…love the light, gives it such a soft finish…..nice work…jim

  9. Gorgeous macro shot, Laura! Love the rich color.

  10. Beautiful crystal clear image. Hang in there.

  11. I see nothing wrong … in fact looks good…

  12. Another example of your excellent use of light for macro flowers. I just recently discovered your “Things That Grow” gallery and the photos are fantastic.

  13. Lovely textures Laura…..nice image

  14. wonderfully sharp, what lens are you using? just out of interest as i have been browsing for one.

    • It’s the Nikon 105mm Macro. I’m loving this lens. It really is fantastic. Let me know what you get but from my research, this is the best Nikon Macro. There is one that’s a longer focal length but it has a much larger price tag!

  15. i think maybe you like flowers too 🙂

  16. despite your challenges, this is lovely. i noticed some of these today as well, although in pale purple, and not nearly in its prime as this one is. yours look like autumn has barely begun 🙂

    • Thank you 🙂 I think finally we are into full autumn but it only lasts a little bit here it seems. We went from 90 degrees to 65 degrees in a matter of days! Glad I captured this before it withered away. 🙂

  17. I enjoyed reading all the comments on your post. You really generate a lot! I too am in the market for a macro lens for my Nikon. Thanks for sharing that you like the 105. I keep debating on which one would be best for me.

    • I’m glad you enjoy the comments. I like interacting…can you tell?? 😉 Which macros are you thinking of other than the 105. There is a longer focal length Nikon and I’m sure it is a fabulous lens but it was too expensive for me.

  18. gorgeous Laura!! Love your macro!!

  19. Another exquisite shot Laura 😀
    Everything is wonderful!!! Subject matter, light, colour and the detail. Gorgeous.
    Macro is a blessing to those of us with limited circumstances/movement… and fun fun fun!
    Fabulous hand held shot. Nicely done.
    I’m really enjoying your processing on these… adds to the delicate beauty. Love what you are doing.

    • Thank you so very much for your thoughtful comments Robyn. I’m so glad you like what I’m doing and YES! Macro is heaven for me these days although I went out today and took some landscapes. I have to come up from air once in awhile lol. I appreciate your feedback on my processing…actually my restraint from processing as this has very little for a change. 🙂

  20. Laura, this is absolute perfection. I’ve shared it on Google+. Be kind to your body. I can only imagine how tempting it must be to keep on moving about.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

  21. i enjoy being able to see the ‘vein’ details on the petals. it makes it seem the flower is raw and newly born.

Leave a Reply

