Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

SF Skyline

104 Comments

This was taken from Fort Baker on the North side of the Golden Gate Bridge looking south at the SF skyline.  You can see the Bay Bridge off to the left and Coit Tower to the right of it.  To the right of Coit Tower you can see the Transamerica Pyramid.

This was a long exposure at 90 seconds.  For this image I really didn’t do too much although it might look it.  I added some contrast, the overall blueish tone and one gradient.

 

SF Skyline

SF Skyline

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

104 thoughts on “SF Skyline

  1. Exquisite photo, Laura. 🙂

  2. Absolutely Breathtaking. It’s amazing and thank you for sharing it. -Max-

  3. Hauntingly beautiful!
    Leslie

  4. My ‘hometown’…LOVE this!!! Absolutely gorgeous capture

  5. Awesome shot! I haven’t used many long exposures my self, but I do know that they can be rewarding!

    • Thanks Colton! I’ve only done three of them. But I have a fun time trying. The funny thing is that I forgot my viewfinder cap so I had to make do with blue tape. Live and learn!

  6. I like what you have done here Laura. It’s a beauty!

  7. Wow, gorgeous!!! 👍 😁

  8. Wow, 90 seconds. Awesome shot!!!

  9. I’m impressed…

  10. You did it again! Took my breath away. I love it!

  11. Absolutely stunning! This should be on a postcard or better yet, my living room wall. 🙂

  12. In general I don’t like cities but from a photographic point of view cities are fascinating. This picture is another proof of it. Beautiful.

  13. Reblogged this on My Choice and commented:
    In general I don’t like cities but from a photographic point of view cities are fascinating. This picture of Laura Macky says it all.

  14. Well whatever you did it worked… brilliant result…

  15. Unique and dramatic, beautiful cityscape Laura.

  16. Sorry I have been lax in commenting of late but I have seen much of your work and appreciate it, even when I do not comment. Besides I always see many people are letting you know how they appreciate your work. I hope the recovery is progressing and thank you for the meaningfulness of your photography.

  17. Fantastic color and light! Fantastic shot!

  18. Such a beautiful shot of one of the most wonderful bridges of the world!

  19. Very dreamy – nice capture.

  20. Very nice shot. Good job, Laura!

  21. Love the fiery glow . Something out of a film … just waiting for a momentous happening in that sky …

  22. This is fantastic Laura, it has the look and feel of a painting. I think it would look great printed and framed.

  23. I really love how you processed this image, Laura. It’s so dramatic! Way cool! (((HUGS))) Amy

  24. Astounding…thanks for posting!

  25. One of my favorite vistas and your photo is outstanding! Kudos~

  26. I love long exposures. This is exotic looking Laura!!!

    • Thank you! I want to try more of them. I think I know more about them than before. One funny thing is that I had lost my viewfinder cap so I used blue tape to cover the viewfinder. I ordered a new one now. Sheesh! They are so tiny and easy to lose.

  27. amazing sky, colors, looks very dream like.

  28. Laura, this looks so mystical as if it’s from a science fiction movie. Wonderful shot.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

  29. amazing photo Laura, the content, color and composition in the lower third of the photo is really nice!

  30. This is absolutely gorgeous!

  31. Be prepared to get addicted on long exposure photos, especially if you keep churning out ones like this! It’s ethereal!

  32. Simply stunning. I so love your work!

  33. What a stunning image. Those timed shots can create some fantastic images. That is also a great spot to shot from. Not that many people know about Fort Baker location unless they are visiting the Discovery Center. I’m glad you are getting out and about.

  34. This is wonderful, I love what you’ve done to the photo!

  35. amazing image, Ma’am… oh, Frisco… my favourite US-city… often miss it! 🙂

  36. Um ya, so this is also amazing. The colours you gave this are amazing and the position of the skyline make the city feel so grand and so small at the same time. This is stellar.

    • Thank you so much for your positive feedback. I’m really having fun with processing. Can you tell?? 😀

      • Ha, I sure can, and it’s awesome. I really have to take some time and learn PSE. I’m so used to LR but I’ll never achieve anything like this without branching out.

        • I have to say I was very resistant to LR but once I realized its power especially for updating sites all at once like smugmug, flickr, 500 px, etc., plus the resizing feature and watermarking…I am in heaven now! I highly recommend it. But I don’t really process there. I do basic adjustments and then bring the images into PS. It’s pretty fun…I think you’d enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

