Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

In Close

52 Comments

Most of my previous macros have not been in close like this at 1:1.  I gave it a whirl the other day and it’s definitely not as easy as it appears!  It’s something that sometimes would work best on a tripod, but for these I hand-held the camera.  The challenge is maintaining the focal point when every tiny little movement I make with my body moves the focal point.  It was fun trying to get an artistic view of part of a flower though!  Not sure I quite lived up to my expectations but practice makes perfect.

I know this may come as a shock to most of you but I didn’t even load this in photoshop!  Okay, you can get up off the floor now LOL.

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

52 thoughts on “In Close

  1. No tripod?!? – You are indeed a wild and crazy woman 🙂

  2. These are lovely! Macro photography really has such a wonderful artistic feel – especially with the blur (bokeh). I think that a tripod is not always ideal in macro as then it does not allow you to get as close as you want – so steady hands are a good thing! Have fun with it!

    • Thank you so much! I’m glad to hear I don’t always need a tripod. It is hard sometimes as things are at different angles. These flowers were on a vase on my front porch. 🙂

  3. So yellow.. how delicate!

  4. Tripods are overrated! Great photo anyway, Laura. 👍 😁

  5. Lovely shots Laura…..I love the abstract quality of extreme close-ups

  6. I love these! The yellow is so pure. And, I like how the focus moves throughout each image. Beautiful!

  7. Lovely image, Laura! I’m with you on the orchids. I have a few closeups of them and they really do nothing for me. I may run them through RollWorld and see what comes out…:-)

  8. You know what I hate? When you get up REAL CLOSE, line up the perfect shot, and then a gust of wind comes along. And then it takes freaking forever for the flower/branch/whatever to settle back down again. After a while, I just give up and quit.

    Gorgeous photo by the way

  9. So beautiful, I wonder how it would look if everything didn’t go so horribly wrong. 😀 Seriously, this is amazing.

    • Haha funny. Thank you I think! ;). By the way I saw your flower macros and they are wonderful but I couldn’t comment because I’m on my small phone since our wifi is down and I couldn’t see where to comment. Ah the perils of age!

  10. Laura! this is macro art!! The colour is dazzling too!!

  11. The artistic view is lovely and something I want to strive for.

  12. I’ve got to wear my hat more often. Then I could be taking it off to you. It is a lovely shot of a beautiful bloom. Thank-you very much for the view.

  13. Superb! I’ve just got a macro lens and have so much to learn! It’s not as easy as it looks!!

  14. This is beautiful, just as it is!

  15. It’s beautiful! Love the focus!

  16. an interesting close-up.

Leave a Reply

