Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Stretched Out

91 Comments

Awhile ago we had taken a drive up to the Marin Headlands on our way to Rodeo Beach and I had to take a picture of the Golden Gate stretching across the Bay.   This was taken from western side looking back to San Francisco.  Oh how I love the City by the Bay!  And my favorite Journey song is below in case you want to listen lol.

Golden Gate Bridge

Golden Gate Bridge

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

91 thoughts on “Stretched Out

  1. Wow! That’s a great vantage point 🙂

  2. Jumping out of cars now are ya? 😉 Gorgeous shot!

    • haha well I have to say I didn’t “jump” that particular day. I think I took it through the window actually (window down). Typical native right? Meh, just the bridge…I’ll take a quickee. 😉 Thank you!

  3. Glorious. You paint with your camera.

  4. i’ve not seen that view
    looking so beautiful
    and golden 🙂

  5. that is just breathtaking!

  6. This is breathtaking.

    I recently read that water is so powerfully calming that even seeing a picture of it or imagining it can soothe. I understood it was true in principle, but this enhances that understanding. I feel like I’m standing there and looking down on it with my own eyes.

  7. So beautiful, wow! 😊

  8. Beautiful shot, together with a most appropriate song….Love Journey! What incredible opportunities you encounter for lifetouching, photographic moments. Thank you for sharing and affording the vision of living vicariously, until I too can get there!!

  9. That’s a beautiful photo and a great song.

  10. Now that is a great shot Laura

  11. Great shot not only getting everything in, and the day looks fairly clear.

  12. What a size it is Laura – you’ve got a great angle there !

  13. Here’s another *wow* for this image, Laura. So lovely!

    Shelagh

  14. As a teenager I sold all my possession and ran off to San Francisco to see the world…It has a very special place in my heart as well. There is nothing that evokes those memories and feelings as strongly as the Golden Gate bridge.

    • I’m so glad that my image brought back fond memories! It is so cool that you did that. I wonder if people still do that these days. Thank you for sharing that Charlie. 🙂

  15. Oh wow amazing shot.

  16. Awesome, Laura. There is a bit of a vintage feel to this image that I am loving and the occasional snow flurry cracks me up as I gaze at your image. The water color is gorgeous! This is quite an image…taken from a window of a car, you are good!

    • I wish I knew how to stop that snow! I can’t see it oddly enough and I didn’t even know it was there. Hopefully it’s something that will stop after the holidays haha. And thanks for the words about my image. 🙂

  17. That’s an awesome vantage point. In the event that I may one day win the lottery and visit you, would you please take me there? 😉

  18. It is my very favorite city of all. You captured it beautifully!

  19. The colors are fantastic! Who would believe you could get it all at once like you did?

    BTW, I keep getting “snowflakes” across every blog the last few days. Is that something my computer is doing or is it that most bloggers are using that feature?

    • Thank you! I used a wide angle lens which allowed me to fit it all in. Yeah I know what you mean about the snowflakes. mine is doing it too, or so others say….I can’t see them and never put them there so…beats me! lol

  20. What an amazing view. 🙂

  21. Quite an expansive crisp shot. Very nice!

  22. What a wonderful image! An iconic image and very recognisable as SF 😀
    Gorgeous skies too! Such a beauty Laura!

  23. One gorgeous photo,Laura. One might get the impression you like the area where you live. Journey? OMG I remember them too.

    • Yeah I kinda like it here lol. Thanks Robert. 🙂 Steve Perry still attends a lot of the Giants games and we always sing “Lights” usually during 7th inning stretch. I’m glad you remember them!

  24. Utterly stunning capture of a famed landscape. The swirling skyscape really adds to the vista.

  25. spectacular view indeed!! Beautiful shot Laura!

  26. I love the picture, and judging from the tune underneath it, I love the pride you have in your town. So tell something, does the Bay area have to take all the good-natured ribbing from the rest of your country, that my Vancouver has to take from the rest of Canada? It just seems the rest of the world loves to pick on us West Coasters.

    • Oh yes….we get picked on all the time. I grew up in Oakland and it’s the same there as well as Berkeley. Although sometimes it’s not such good-natured ribbing unfortunately. I love Vancouver by the way. But I’m partial to the West Coast. 🙂

      • Yeah, it’s the same here, not all of it is so good-natured. I guess I was being diplomatic. My only experience with Oakland was hitch-hiking through it on my way back to Van from L.A. at Christmas one year after the carnival season. Turned into a really righteous trip when I got picked up by an ex-Hell’s Angel who had bought and now lived out of his 18-wheeler that he did his best to teach me how to drive. We stopped in Marysville where he grabbed his girlfriend for himself, and his ex-wife for me, and we went partying for the Christmas that I wasn’t going to make it back in time for anyway. It was a good time, I’ve always liked Californians ever since. So take care, and I’ll view you later.

  27. Stunning image of the bridge, Laura!

  28. Great shot and nice guitar licks.

  29. Fantastic shot and fantastic song!

Leave a Reply

