Laura Macky Photography

Journey of a body on this earth

Night Seeker – Topaz Glow

81 Comments

Topaz recently introduced its new “Glow” product so I thought I’d give it a whirl.  It has some similar capabilities as the iPad app Tangled FX which I used, in part, to create that Tangled Coneflower I recently posted.   I’m not sure I will purchase the Glow product, but free trials are always good. 🙂

Something I’ve learned is that when I use an effect for my photo art images, it is most always combined with other effects so the entire image does not look “one note” so to speak. I’m trying to learn more about creating more depth to my images and that is often created by light. One of the things I did here was to use a “metal” gradient as an overlay layer to bring a punch of light to the grill which draws your eye there first.  I am addicted to gradients! 

The Glow filter can be gimmicky I think if one isn’t careful about using it with restraint.  What a second…did I say I used restraint in my photos????   Ok so I TRY to use restraint.  😉

(The original photo is at the bottom of this post.)

Night Seeker

Night Seeker

Pickup Flower Power

Pickup Flower Power

Author: lauramacky

Journey of a Body on this Earth

81 thoughts on “Night Seeker – Topaz Glow

  1. Glow and for the most part HDR are not my thing. But in hands of an expert the results like these are stunning. Makes me want to try again;)

  2. Would like to see what you’d do on a chopper, this has kind of a nice Ghost Rider effect. Loved the original also. Thanks for explaining the process.

    • Oooo yeah! That sounds cool. It reminded me of that Nicholas Cage movie. That’s what I was thinking when I made it so you are definitely seeing what I was seeing. Thank you and your’e welcome about the process…well, part of it anyway. 🙂

  3. I am fascinated about how an image can change and be processed. Thanks for showing both and explaining your methods (I love gradients too!!).
    Have a nice day xx

  4. Maybe you make me like HDR after all, Laura, this looks very good!

    • I so rarely do HDR actually. The original was a true HDR image though. One of the rare ones I do. Usually I stick to digital blending. Thank you for your comments Dina! I’m glad you like it. 🙂

  5. Wow, what a result! Fantastic!

  6. Restraint is SO difficult. I am learning too

  7. I actually love both photos…. the original is a keeper

  8. Those are pretty good using Topaz. Have to check out that program. Interesting.

  9. Very good take on your pervious image – I like the effect and it does work for this image. You are correct in not overusing any particular effect as it does impart a “sameness” to all of the images. I use my version of glow primarily for windows or highlights in images as a spot only effect in layers.

    • Thanks Robert. This Topaz Glow is very fibery so it does get a bit squirrely I think if it’s overused. It won’t be one I purchase but it was fun to do. I love Nik Color Efex Glamour Glow and Nik Viveza too for glowy effects.

  10. Looks sweet, looks like colour projected on smoke!

  11. Very nice Laura…looks like that truck just blew in from the spirit world……bhahahhhahhaaa! 🙂

  12. So gorgeous! You are amazing. 😊

  13. This is fantastic. I have to try it. The trouble with our photography addiction affliction is that it’s hard give it up. I’m not sure that there’s a cure. 🙂

  14. I like the new toy PB! Nice work 🙂

  15. Too funny, fantastic effect, Good weekend Laura

  16. Way KEWL!!! Laura, I LOVE this effect and what you did! Thank YOU also for the heads up on Tangled Fx which I am going to get on my iPad. I am doing basics on my laptop, then importing my images over to my media library in Petals and from there, copy them into my iPad library to play with, with the apps I have. I am getting addicted to playing! LOL Hope your knee is really feeling good by now!!! (((HUGS))) Amy

  17. Magnificent! The effect is incredible, Laura.

  18. Excellent Laura … love the ‘punch of light’! Go girl .. 🙂

  19. This is very well done. You are right. It has to be used with care, or it can be too gimmicky

  20. OOooooUuuuu… I like it! I love them both!

  21. It gives a St. Elmo’s Fire effect!! I have another similar filter I have to be careful not to over do. This is perfect!

  22. I like your glowy effect here, Laura. Now Gradients is not something I am familiar with….a photoshop thing?

  23. These special shots of yours are one of the reasons I follow your page so closely.

  24. Effects often become gimmick, but in this case the result was really nice. It’s a car taken from a Tim Burton animation.

  25. You’ve got a talent, Laura! I definitely love it! 😀

  26. Great fun – the result is interesting. My favorite is the amazing original 😉 !

  27. Morning Laura – I love this!
    I had decided not to review Glow, but after seeing your fabulous effort, I’m going to try again also.
    This works so well on the truck!! 😀

    • Thanks Robyn! I don’t think I’ll buy it though. So much expense at this time of year for something I may use once in awhile but for certain things I think it works great. I’ll be interested to see what you come up with!

  28. Pingback: Digital Hot Rod Art. | MaxReynolds: Sunrise, Sunset and other Visions

  29. I love the original though the other is fun. It’s hard to wade through all the possibilities out there for photo post processing (is that the right term?).

Leave a Reply

